Looking Back: Stoney Creek Village

Rochester Post | Published February 7, 2024


ROCHESTER HILLS — The 20th century brought change and growth to Stoney Creek Village. From 1899 to 1931, the Detroit United Railway offered a more convenient mode of transportation from Detroit to Lake Orion, with many stops in between. This photo shows the view looking west down Tienken Road in Stoney Creek Village. The DUR tracks, shown on the left, ran through Stoney Creek, traveling along Tienken Road toward Imlay City. With cars coming almost every hour, village residents could make quick trips into Rochester, Detroit, Lake Orion and many places in between. Accessible transportation led to increased travel for residents and those visiting Stoney Creek Village.

The Roberson/Price family witnessed many of the changes to Stoney Creek Village throughout its history. The early American frame home, shown in the middle, was home to members of the Roberson family and their descendants from 1869 to the late 1960s. The Roberson Grist Mill on the right was built in 1850 and was capable of processing 40,000 bushels of grain a year.

To discover more local history, visit the Rochester Hills Museum at Van Hoosen Farm website at http://www.rochesterhills.org/museum and check out the online collection catalog at rochesterhillsmuseum.catalogaccess.com.

— Samantha Lawrence, museum archivist at the Rochester Hills Museum at Van Hoosen Farm