File photo

News & Notes - 12/20/23 Fraser-Clinton Township Chronicle

Fraser-Clinton Chronicle | Published December 19, 2023


CMPL 1-2-3 program to focus on immigration
CLINTON TOWNSHIP — For the Clinton-Macomb Public Library’s annual 1-2-3 informational event, the library will engage in a discussion about immigration and how it connects to the local area.

The 1-2-3 program, which has run yearly since 2021, uses three books to discuss one subject across the CMPL’s two communities. Each selected book corresponds to a reading level. “Home is in Between,” by Mitali Perkins is the selected picture book; “Refugee,” by Alan Gratz is a teen book; and “Somewhere We Are Human: Authentic Voices on Migration, Survival and New Beginnings,” edited by Reyna Grande and Sonia Guinansaca, is the book for adults.

Events are part of the 1-2-3 program and two are already scheduled. Emma Davis, director of refugee integration policy for Global Detroit, will come to the main library on Wednesday, Jan. 24, at 6:30 p.m. to explain why people immigrate, what it is like immigrating and the history of immigration to the metro Detroit area.

“Immigration: An American Story,” a traveling exhibit from the Gilder-Lehrman Institute of American History in New York City, will present documents, maps and other artifacts to show the stories of immigrants to America at the main library’s upper floor from Jan. 2-Feb. 2.

Other events across the CMPL’s three libraries can be found at


MCCMH appoints interim CEO
CLINTON TOWNSHIP — Macomb County Community Mental Health will see a change of leadership in 2024 as CEO Dave Pankotai steps down.

The position will be filled by COO Traci Smith in an interim capacity.

“Dave Pankotai’s contributions to Macomb County have been monumental,” said Phil Kraft, MCCMH Board Chairman, in a statement from the organization. “Our providers, MCCMH staff, and board of directors are grateful for his leadership and dedication. He will be greatly missed, but Dave has provided MCCMH a clear path and vision with which to move forward and be successful for years to come.”

Pankotai led the organization through the COVID-19 pandemic, improving the organization’s finances while providing support for the Macomb County Central Intake and Assessment Project.


Macomb County assistant prosecutor ends career of 30-plus years
MOUNT CLEMENS — Macomb County Assistant Prosecuting Attorney Beth Kirshner is retiring from the county Prosecutor’s Office.

Joining the office in 1993 and overseeing the Family Support Unit for 10 years, Kirshner is leaving to pursue a teaching career at Macomb Community College.

“I had not planned on leaving the office since I love my job and the people that I work with,” Kirshner said in a statement from the Prosecutor’s Office. “I have been teaching at night and online for over 15 years and have been offered a chance to embark on a new career. I am sad to leave the office, but I am excited that I am joining the faculty of Macomb Community College and will be part of their prestigious law enforcement faculty. I am grateful for Carl Marlinga for hiring me and allowing me to serve the people of Macomb County and appreciate the support that Prosecutor Lucido has given me since he has taken office. I am excited for the next steps to teach full time and help educate the students at Macomb Community College.”


Selfridge personnel given yearly honors
HARRISON TOWNSHIP — The best military and civilian employees got their annual recognition at Selfridge Air National Guard Base at the Outstanding Airmen of the Year awards on Dec. 2.

“The Outstanding Airmen of the Year ceremony is our opportunity to recognize our top performers, and the Wing’s accomplishments this past year,” said Brig. Gen. Matthew Brancato, commander of the 127th Wing and Selfridge Air National Guard Base, in a statement. “I feel honored to celebrate the extraordinary efforts of the 127th Wing.”

The 11 winners come from a pool of 30 base personnel and are as follows:

• Airman of the Year – Airman 1st Class Cole Alli, 127th Operations Group

• Noncommissioned Officer of the Year – Tech. Sgt. Erica Spaulding, 127th Maintenance Group

• Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year – Master Sgt. Trina Ramos, 127th Medical Group

• First Sergeant of the Year – Master Sgt. Heather Bell, 127th Mission Support Group

• Company Grade Officer of the Year – 1st Lt. Caleb Jenkins, 127th Air Refueling Group

• Honor Guard Member of the Year – Airman 1st Class Ethan Leary

• Recruiter of the Year – Tech. Sgt. Justin Nabarrette

• Civilian Employee of the Year – Catherine Finocchiaro, 127th Wing Headquarters

• Civilian Manager of the Year – Andrew Schumann, 127th Wing Headquarters

• State Employee of the Year –Joe McIntyre, 127th Mission Support Group

• Commander’s Trophy – 107th Mission Generating Force Element Team

Winners of the airman, noncommissioned officers and company grade officer categories will move on to a state-level awards ceremony, where winners will then be eligible for awards at the national level.