Lucido elected to Macomb County Board of Commissioners

Eastpointe council will have to fill Lucido’s seat

By: Maria Allard | C&G Newspapers | Published November 16, 2022




MACOMB COUNTY — Eastpointe City Councilwoman Sarah Lucido will continue serving the public as an elected official, but this time in a different role.

On Election Day Nov. 8, Lucido, a Democrat, was elected to represent District 13 on the Macomb County Board of Commissioners with 17,576 votes, defeating Republican Randell J. Shafer, who garnered 6,980 votes.

The district covers Eastpointe and parts of St. Clair Shores and Warren. The position has a two-year term of office.

“I’m super excited. I am so humbled and honored and want to thank the residents in the southeastern part of Macomb County for electing me,” Lucido said.

The newly elected county commissioner believes her “community engagement” is one of the strengths that voters saw in her.

“I try to stay engaged with the community. I have kept the lines of communication open when serving on the Eastpointe City Council,” Lucido said.

Lucido has served seven years on the council. Her term was to expire in November 2023, and the seat will need to be filled.

“It will be up to the rest of the council how to move forward with the vacancy,” Lucido said.

She added that “it was a very hard decision” to run for the county seat when she had not finished out her term.

“I deeply respect all of my fellow council members I work with and the city administrators,” she said. “I will definitely miss working with all of them.”


More election results
For the state Senate District 11 seat, voters chose Democrat Veronica Klinefelt over Republican Mike MacDonald by a margin of 56,107 votes to 50,392 votes.

In the 12th District of the state House of Representatives, Democrat Kimberly L. Edwards won election with 20,951 votes. Republican Diane Saber received 8,156 votes and Libertarian Gregory Creswell received 643 votes.

In the 62nd District of the state House of Representatives, Republican Alicia St. Germaine was elected to a two-year term. She received 21,522 votes, beating out Democrat Michael Brooks, who received 18,766 votes.

The district covers Fraser and Harrison Township, as well as parts of St. Clair Shores, Roseville, Clinton Township and Chesterfield Township.

Democrat Mark Hackel won reelection to another four-year term as Macomb County Executive. He won with 229,940 votes to Republican Nicholyn Brandenburg’s 144,208 votes.

Democrat Harold Haugh was reelected to a two-year term on the Macomb County Board of Commissioners. He received 14,927 votes to Republican Adam Shane Pelt’s 10,007 votes and will represent the 10th District.

In the race for a partial term as judge of the Court of Appeals 2nd District, Sima Patel defeated Michael Warren with 467,214 votes to 356,156 votes. In the other contested judicial race on ballots, Terri Lynn Dennings defeated Steven R. Fox by a margin of 169,555 votes to 86,040 votes.

In the uncontested Roseville Community Schools Board Of Education race, incumbents Kevin Switanowski and Joseph D. DeFelice were reelected with 7,813 and 7,783 votes, respectively. They will serve six-year terms.

Three candidates ran for the three open seats on the Eastpointe Community Schools Board of Education. Cassie Gruenberg was elected with 6,840 votes. Current Board Vice President Chineva Early was reelected with 5,927 votes. Addie Richardson was elected with 5,532 votes. Julie DeVita did not seek reelection.

Richardson recently was appointed to the school board to fill a vacancy after board member Keith Ward died Oct. 6. At the Nov. 14 Board of Education meeting, Richardson took the oath of office for the appointment.

“I am a people advocate, and I love the children. That’s one of the main reasons I chose to go this route,”  Richardson said. “I’m very, very happy to be here.”

She, along with Gruenberg and Early, will be sworn in this January for their new four-term years.

It was status quo for the Macomb Community College Board of Trustees, where five candidates ran for two open seats. Incumbents Katherine Lorenzo and Kristi Dean were reelected to the board with 110,034 and 93,208 votes, respectively, defeating challengers Joseph A. Backus (81,565 votes), Robert Boccomino (61,789 votes) and Louise Strong (55,147 votes). The trustees serve six-year terms.

All proposals on the ballot in Eastpointe and Roseville — the three county proposals and the three state proposals — were approved by voters.