Dominic Miller, 13, left, receives his award from Eastpointe City Council member Rob Baker.

Dominic Miller, 13, left, receives his award from Eastpointe City Council member Rob Baker.

Photo by Maria Allard

Chamber of Commerce salutes local residents and businesses

By: Maria Allard | Roseville-Eastpointe Eastsider | Published October 13, 2022

 Eastpointe Public Safety Director George Rouhib, right, honors Detective Ian Reinhold as Eastpointe Police Officer of the Year.

Eastpointe Public Safety Director George Rouhib, right, honors Detective Ian Reinhold as Eastpointe Police Officer of the Year.

Photo by Maria Allard


EASTPOINTE/ROSEVILLE — Dominic Miller is still at it.

The 13-year-old Eastpointe resident has continued with his Dominic’s Christmas Wish charity.

Through the organization, Miller collects new pajamas, books, toys, socks, hats, mittens and scarves for local shelters. For his good deeds, Miller was named as the Eastpointe Youth of the Year by the Eastpointe-Roseville Chamber of Commerce.

Miller was among the local residents and businesses honored during the Eastpointe-Roseville Chamber of Commerce Salute to Excellence 2022 award ceremony Oct. 6 at Eastpointe Manor. All honorees received a plaque and kind words from those who introduced them. Calling him a “remarkable young man,” Eastpointe City Council member Rob Baker presented Miller with his award.

“He has been helping other children for almost his whole life. Dominic’s goal this year is to help specifically 4,002 children,” Baker said. “There are collection boxes scattered throughout the local area. The pajamas and books are delivered every year in December. Dominic’s slogan is, ‘Let’s change the world one child at a time.’”

Eastpointe-Roseville Chamber of Commerce President Chris Dyki emceed the event. Linda Weishaupt is the executive director of the chamber, and Sandra Maki is the event coordinator director.

Keith Jacobs, who has been Roseville fire chief for one year, presented Roseville Capt. Marc Nicke with the “Roseville Firefighter of the Year” award. Jacobs talked about working with Nicke when Jacobs was a battalion chief and Nicke was a sergeant.

“Marc would come into my office speaking on behalf of the firefighters and medics on how things need to be made better,” Jacobs said. “Then as a lieutenant, Marc started to take his officer rank even more to heart by coming to me with ideas on how we can make things better for our firefighters.

“Over the past year as a captain, Marc has exhibited strong leadership skills in emergency incidents,” Jacobs said. “He is one of the officers that can stay calm on an emergency scene. This is such an essential skill that not everyone in our field can do. Doing so builds confidence in our firefighters.”

Eastpointe Community Schools Superintendent Christina Gibson and Eastpointe High School Principal Asenath Jones presented senior Kayla Roberson with her award.

“Kayla is an honor student. She’s a part of the National Honor Society. She’s a beautiful singer. She sung for us last year at our high school graduation,” Jones said. “She participates in so many various things. We’re just so proud of her. Last year, she won a culinary arts award.”

Culinary arts is something that Roberson plans to study in college. She will graduate from Eastpointe High School with honors in June.

For more than 40 years, the chamber has acknowledged businesses, residents, youth, educators and first responders for their dedication and service to the community. Businesses are also honored for redevelopment and/or renovation and for having 25 years of history, or more, in the community.

For more information on Dominic’s Christmas Wish, visit the charity’s Facebook page or send an email to Dominic’

Eastpointe-Roseville Chamber of Commerce 2022 Salute to Excellence Award winners

• Police Officer of the Year — Detective Ian Reinhold (Eastpointe) and Detective Jeremy Scicluna (Roseville).

• Firefighter of the Year — Matthew Sahr (Eastpointe) and Capt. Marc Nicke (Roseville).

• Citizen of the Year — Frank Martincic (Eastpointe) and Tom Guswiler (Roseville).

• Business of the Year — Dedicated Senior Medical Center (Eastpointe) and Motor City Pawn Brokers (Roseville).

• Capital Improvement Award — Eastpointe Community Schools (Eastpointe) and Dale’s Landscaping Supply Inc. (Roseville).

• Pioneer Award — Immanuel United Methodist Church (Eastpointe) and Athena Banquet Center (Roseville).

• You’ve Made a Difference — Two awards: Michigan Military Technical & History Society, and Melvenna Fant-Jones and DeLorean Ismon (Eastpointe); and Anton Art Center and J Cola Hair Salon, Michele Liss (Roseville).

• Eastpointe Community Schools Educator of the Year — Nancy Buccilli, elementary school; Richard MacDonald, middle school; Katie Belemonti, high school.

• Roseville Community Schools Educator of the Year — Rebecca Vehar, elementary school; Natalie Grupido, middle school; Matthew Komarowski, high school.

• Student of the Year — Kayla Roberson (Eastpointe) and Paige Tomala (Roseville).

• Eastpointe Youth of the Year — Dominic Miller.

• Eastpointe-Roseville Chamber Ambassador of the Year — Dr. Cassandra Crittenden.