File photo

MCC, OCC board of trustees election results

C&G Newspapers | Published November 6, 2020

File photo

MACOMB/OAKLAND COUNTIES — In the Macomb Community College Board of Trustees race, 10 candidates ran for three 6-year terms. The board’s three incumbents — Shelley Vitale, Vince Viviano and Frank Cusumano — were reelected with 134,141, 127,602 and 106,607 votes, respectively.

Finishing behind them were: Sara Gieleghem, 91,698 votes; Maria Mijac, 84,566 votes; Eugene F. Groesbeck, 60,212; Cecil D. St. Pierre Jr., 51,667 votes; Lance Pittman, 45,573 votes; Carl Territo, 35,533 votes; and Craig Plesco, 35,029 votes.

In the race for the Oakland Community College Board of Trustees, seven candidates were competing for two six-year terms. Shirley Bryant, an incumbent since 2008, defended her seat with 164,580 votes (22.43%), and she is joined on the board by newcomer Susan Gibson at 146,826 votes (20.01%).

The runners-up include the current chairman John McCulloch, who took 126,894 votes (17.30%); John Tolbert, at 94,244 votes (12.85%); Dandridge Floyd, at 79,516 votes (10.84%); Jason Deneau, at 78,005 votes (10.63%); and E. Wadsworth Sherrod III, who took 40,360 votes (5.49%). There were 3,303 unassigned write-in votes (0.45%) and 734,577 votes total.