MAC honors top local softball players

By: Jon Malavolti, | All | Published July 13, 2012

Another competitive season of Macomb Area Conference softball is in the books

Here’s a look back at how each team fared in its division and the elite players who helped shape their team’s destiny.

Red Division
Utica Stevenson and Romeo High finished as co-champs at 10-2, while St. Clair High (7-5) was third, followed by Anchor Bay (6-6), Macomb Dakota (4-8) Marine City (3-9) and Chippewa Valley (2-10).

 Lake Shore’s Andrea Rico was named to the MAC White All-Conference team.

Lake Shore’s Andrea Rico was named to the MAC White All-Conference team.

Photo by Patricia O’Blenes

Stevenson’s Alyssa Huntley was named Most Valuable Player, while Stevenson’s Tony Misuraca was tabbed as Coach of the Year. Marine City won the Team Sportsmanship award.

Earning All-Conference honors are Huntley, Jessica Berner, Taylor Moceri, Andrewa Deneweth and Haley Knodell, Stevenson; Taylor Weaver, Rachel Gabrielson, Taylor Waters and Melissa Staelgraeve, Romeo; Lindsey Lawson, Brittany Schweiger and Bailey Dembinski, St. Clair; Kasey McKay and Rachel Podgolski, Anchor Bay; Erica Manduzzi and Megan Downey, Dakota; Jordan Mathison, Marine City; and Leah Fifer, Chippewa Valley.

White Division
Utica Ford II took the title after finishing 9-3, followed by Utica High (7-5), Utica Eisenhower (7-5), St. Clair Shores Lake Shore (6-6), Port Huron Northern (6-6), St. Clair Shores Lakeview (4-8) and Grosse Pointe North (3-9).

North’s Amy Zaranek took home MVP honors, and Ford’s Matt Joseph was Coach of the Year. Utica won the Team Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honorees are Gabby Schefka, Lindsay Dodson, Valerie Knight, Alex Sorgi and Jordyn Wojciechowski, Ford; Jenna Lucente, Sarah Mauser, Jessica Peddle, Samantha Zarins, Utica; Olivia Hrymak, Kayla Laquire, Ellie Kauten, Ike; Mackenzie Nemitz and Andrea Rico, Lake Shore; Morgan Thompson and Chelsea Koehn, Northern; Katelyn Taormina, Lakeview; and Zaranek, North.

Blue Division
Fraser High finished first after an 11-1 campaign, followed by Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse (9-3), Macomb L’Anse Creuse North (8-4), Marysville High (7-5), Roseville High (3-9), Warren Cousino (3-9) and Warren Mott (1-11).

Fraser’s Bryana Opalewski and Matt Fishburn were honored as MVP and Coach of the Year, respectively.

All-Conference honorees are Lacey Trelfa, Kaitlyn Thayer, Kayla Belfiori, Faith Genova and Jenni Ochlsyki, Fraser; Megan Fedolik, Shannon Brown, Monica Hassig and Megan Hicks, L’Anse Creuse; Ashley Dunford, Courtney Dunford and Jordan Bennett, LCN; Emma Cook and Ashley Locke, Marysville; Lauren Croud and Aryana Nacker, Cousino; Amanda Schankin, Roseville; and Kristyn Bawol, Mott.

Gold Division
Warren Woods Tower went a perfect 12-0 to wrap up the title, followed by Port Huron (10-2), Center Line High (7-5), Grosse Pointe South (7-5), Madison Heights Lamphere (3-9), Sterling Heights High (3-9) and Clawson High (0-12).

Tower’s Shelby Weeks was named the MVP, while Port Huron’s Chris Kozlowski was tabbed as Coach of the Year.

All-Conference honorees are Weeks, Rachel Kopenick, Sara Asmar, Tori MacDermaid, Erica Wilson, Tower; Jennifer Reid, Bre Cates, Katie Neitzke and Kate Roester, Port Huron; Gretchen Shirar, Christy Tedi and Katie Kish, Center Line; Kayla Wilson and Jenna Mowinski, South; Meghan Versele and Chelsea Austin, Lamphere; Allison Erickson, Sterling Heights; and Alli Costine, Clawson.

Silver Division
Warren Fitzgerald won the crown with a 10-2 mark, edging Warren Lincoln (9-3), Clinton Township Clintondale (9-3), St. Clair Shores South Lake (8-4), Madison Heights Madison (3-8), New Haven High (1-10) and East Detroit (0-10).

Fitz’s Samantha Miloser and Rich Smith won MVP and Coach of the Year honors, respectively.

All-Conference honorees are Miloser, Tia Carter, Beth Michalski, Ashley Walker and Melinda West, Fitz; Jackie Brown, Elena Ramirez, Colleen Sharkin and Brittany Streetman, Lincoln; Sandra Simpson, Sarah Block and Morgan Dude, Clintondale; Sarah Nelson and Natalie Poirier, South Lake; Hailey Cason and Danielle O’Connor, Madison; and Toni Jomar, New Haven.