Looking Back: Ascension Catholic Church

Warren Weekly | Published July 29, 2015

The first church and rectory of Ascension Church was built on Ascension (Vivian) Street, which would later become the City of Warren. Fr. Podsiad and John Kostera directed parish volunteers, and the building was finished in time for Mass on Dec. 25, 1926. One month later, Fr. Podsiad was made pastor.

A year later, a parish school was established. A parish hall was built by November 1928 to house students and to be a social center for the area. The rectory was completed in October 1930. For the next 10 years (after the Stock Market Crash in 1929), the Ascension community tried to outlast the Depression.

By the end of World War II in 1945, the parish had about 500 families. By the time the church celebrated its 25th year, the parish population passed the 1,000-family mark and the church had three priests. A vision of the future of the 25th anniversary called for more building space after the church, including a rectory, auditorium, gymnasium and high school.

After a seven-year church drive, groundbreaking took place in May of 1953, and two years later, the dedication Mass of the new church was celebrated. The architecture and appointments were modern but with a classic touch. Many newspapers at the time featured the church’s unique windows and statuary.

Ascension is now a closed parish of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Detroit.

Source: The book “Half Century of Serving Ascension 1926-1976”