File photo by Deb Jacques

Clerk, trustee races clearer after Clinton Township primary

By: Nick Mordowanec | C&G Newspapers | Published August 5, 2020


CLINTON TOWNSHIP — Every seat on the Clinton Township Board of Trustees is up for grabs this November.

During the Aug. 4 primary, Democrat Carol Shumard Diehl defeated Democrat Bob Smith, 54% to 46%. Diehl, who received about 900 more votes, will face incumbent Republican Kim Meltzer this fall.

Four Republican trustee candidates — Mike Aiello, incumbent Joe Aragona, Phil Rode and Kenneth Tardie — automatically move on to the November election.

On the Democratic side, the top four vote getters who will advance are, in order of most votes to least, incumbent Jenifer “Joie” West, Tammy Patton, Laura Cardamone and incumbent Mike Keys.

There were no primary challenges for the supervisor or treasurer races. In November, Supervisor Bob Cannon will face Democratic challenger Jason Davidson. Incumbent Democrat Treasurer Paul Gieleghem will square off against Republican Robert Brandenburg.

In the 31st House District race, incumbent Bill Sowerby, D-Clinton Township, defeated Democratic challenger Michelle Robertson 57.4% to 42.6% and will advance to November for a chance to win his third term. On the Republican side, Lisa Valerio-Nowc defeated Austin Negipe 60% to 40%. She will once again face off against Sowerby in a general election.

Macomb County election results show Clinton Township had a 32.3% voter turnout rate.