Majority of incumbents hang on to Rochester City Council seats

Giovanelli, Ray, Russell re-elected, Peterson ousts Sage

By: Mary Beth Almond | Rochester Post | Published November 3, 2015


Incumbents Ben Giovanelli, Rob Ray and Kim Russell, along with newcomer Ann Peterson, outpaced incumbent Steve Sage and challengers J. Michael Bantjes, Jeremiah Z. Glembocki and Ann Peterson for four seats on the Rochester City Council Nov. 3.

Approximately 7,171 voters cast their ballots on Election Day, according to unofficial results from the Oakland County Elections Division. Russell led the field with 1,599 votes, followed by Ray with 1,496 and Giovanelli with 1,279; they each secured four-year terms. Peterson earned a two-year seat with 1,234 votes. Incumbent Sage came in fifth with 904,  and challengers Glembocki and Bantjes came in sixth and seventh respectively. Glembocki garnered 323 votes, while Bantjes received 322. In addition, 14 votes were cast for write-ins.

The council meets the second and fourth Mondays of each month at City Hall, and members earn $55 per meeting.