Primary sets the stage for county, state contests in November

By: Brendan Losinski, Dean Vaglia, Maria Allard | Mount Clemens-Clinton-Harrison Journal | Published August 5, 2022

Photo by Patricia O'Blenes

HARRISON TOWNSHIP — Democrat Dana Camphous-Peterson and Republican Barbara Zinner will run against each other in the general election Nov. 8 for a seat representing the Macomb County Board of Commissioners 9th District.

During the Aug. 2 primary election, Harrison Township resident Camphous-Peterson ran unopposed on the Democratic side. With 3,690 votes, Zinner, of Harrison Township, beat out Republican challengers Shannon Peltier with 2,367 votes and Linda Burns Torp with 2,327 votes to become the Republican candidate in the November election.

The seat is a two-year term. The district covers Harrison Township and part of St. Clair Shores.

In her candidate profile to C & G Newspapers, Camphous-Peterson’s top priorities included advocating for transparency in county government; repairing, maintaining roads and local water quality; expanding senior, veteran and mental health services; solving the talent shortage; strengthening education for students; and reforming local government and ensuring taxpayer dollars are not wasted.

“As a past county elected official and worker, I know firsthand the problems local governments face due to revenue sharing cuts,” she said in her profile. “I will work to make sure we provide services to help families.”

In her candidate profile, Zinner said she vows to ensure constitutional values, including the Second Amendment, if elected to the board.

“We have to secure the family with their needs. We need to continue to stop corruption and use our finances wisely,” Zinner said in her profile. “Our people cannot take any more taxes and need to increase their funds for the future. We have to have law and order for everyone so our society will thrive, be content and have a future of peace.”

In the Macomb County Board of Commissioners 8th District race, Antoinette Wallace, of Mount Clemens, took the Democratic Party’s nomination with 41% of the vote in a four-way contest spread across Mount Clemens and much of Clinton Township.

“I think it’s time to focus back on the community,” Wallace said, describing her plans between now and November. “You spend a lot of time trying to focus on yourself and remind the community of what you’ve done and what you can still do. I think this is the time I can get back to what I was doing, and that’s giving back to my community, giving back to the local schools and working with them.”

Wallace will take on Republican Lisa Valerio-Nowc in November, who secured the nomination in an unopposed primary.

Pamela David placed second in the contested Democratic primary, followed by Matt Wojcik in third and Jason Davidson in fourth.

In the Michigan Senate District 12 race, two candidates ran for the Republican seat: Pamela Hornberger and Michael D. Williams. Hornberger defeated Williams, 19,198 votes to 10,547, according to the unofficial results. Democrat Kevin Hertel ran unopposed in the primary.

The winner between Hornberger and Hertel in November will serve a four-year term. The district spans Wayne, Macomb and St. Clair counties, and includes the Grosse Pointe communities, St. Clair Shores, Harrison Township, Mount Clemens, and part of Clinton Township. It also includes Chesterfield Township, New Baltimore, Ira Township, Anchorville, Fair Haven, Clay Township, Algonac and Harsens Island.    

In the race for Michigan House of Representatives District 61, Mike Aiello won handily over Republican opponent Austin Negipe with about 85% of the vote (6,867 votes). Democrat Denise Mentzer, of Mount Clemens, ran unopposed.

The seat is a two-year term. The district includes Mount Clemens, part of Clinton Township and a portion of Sterling Heights.

In Michigan House of Representatives District 62, Democrat Michael Brooks ran unopposed in his party. He will face off against Republican Alicia St. Germaine, who received 36.4% of ballots cast in the party primary (3,760 votes). She beat out fellow Republicans Joe Marino, who received 33% (3,411 votes); Hillary Dubay, who received 21.3% (2,197 votes); and Rola Zarife, who received 9.3% (957 votes).

The district encompasses portions of Chesterfield Township, Clinton Township, Fraser, Harrison Township, Roseville and St. Clair Shores.

Additionally, 3,202 votes were cast as write-ins across both primaries. The winner of the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 1 will serve a two-year term.