OAA coaches pick top soccer players from fall campaign

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published November 15, 2012

The Oakland Athletic Association coaches have selected the best players from each of the league’s three divisions following the conclusion of another memorable season of boys soccer.

Here’s a rundown of the All-Association honor team members.

Red Division
Some of the strongest teams in Michigan called the Red Division home in 2012, and when all was said and done, Troy Athens emerged as the league champ with a 6-0-1 record. Rochester High (5-2-0) was second, followed by Clarkston High (4-3-0), Rochester Hills Stoney Creek (3-1-3), Troy High (3-4-0), Rochester Adams (1-3-3), Farmington High (0-5-2) and Bloomfield Hills Lahser (0-5-2).

All Association honors went to Max Klitzke, Aaron Gebauer, Brett Schmitz, Abhi Appukutty, Danny Harris and Tyler Gasko, Athens; Spiro Pliakos, Miles Dale, Nash Popovic, Tyler Schedlbauer and Matt Hawes, Rochester; Joey Definis, Brad Schultz, Ben Snider, Jimmy Todd and Jon Miller, Clarkston; Scott Alampi, Jack Sobczynski, William Kobus, Nick Marn and Kyle Turnbull, Stoney Creek; Zac Doepke, Mitch Guitar, Aaron Faison and Ian Fox, Troy; Ted Hurst, A.J. Shaw, Connor McDevitt and Grant Gibson, Adams; Donald Payne, Brandon Schulz and Joe Trombley, Farmington; and Soros Ashley, Jack Ramonat and Connor Wahl, Lahser.

White Division
After losing the division title on the final day of the season a year ago, Berkley High bounced back in 2012 and shared the White crown with Auburn Hills Avondale after both teams finished 8-3-1. Birmingham Seaholm followed at 6-2-4, while Lake Orion High (5-5-2), Beverly Hills Groves (3-3-6), Bloomfield Hills Andover (3-8-1) and Royal Oak High (0-9-3) rounded out the group.

All-Association players include Josh Shifman, Eric Towns, John DiNunzio, Eurick Crayton, John Ciaramitaro and Sage Stuart, Berkley; Ben Richter, Erik Koberstein, Skyler Russ, Mark Shoemaker, Garrett Ritterhaus and Stuart Russ, Avondale; Tommy Bowman, Aslex Gordon, Dalton Geraldo, Kieren O’Keefe and Andrew Pryna, Seaholm; Justin Anderson, Addison Wittry, Allen Karrip, Russell Reichenbach and Brandon Shefcyk, Lake Orion; William Thompson, Iain Mason, Alex Lurz and Christian Davies, Groves; Greg Mitchem, Griffin Hamel, Ben Kileen and Andy Kim, Andover; and Mike LaComb, Zack Peters and Kenny Vincent, Royal Oak.

Blue Division
One of West Bloomfield High’s best seasons ever included a Blue Division title. The Lakers (11-1-0) were followed by North Farmington (8-2-2), Oxford High (7-2-3), Farmington Hills Harrison (6-3-3), Lathrup Village Southfield-Lathrup (4-10-0), Ferndale High (2-8-0) and Hazel Park High (0-9-0).

All-Association honors go to Nick Asker, Neema Katibai, Pearson Mateika, Vikram Mathias, David Hotz and Mitchell Hotz, West Bloomfield; Kyle Kansman, Ron Basin, Will Clisham, Christian Beckwith and Matt Diekman, North Farmington; Paul Tomaka, Zach Hinman, Josh Nelson, Travis Simat and Chase Garavaglia, Oxford; Luai Fakhoury, Josh Brunett, Brenden Tatomir and Moussa Zaatar, Harrison; Ebrima Jatta, Kebba Senneh, Bamba Seck and Babaaliou Dia, Lathrup; and Chris Mendoza, Kyle Smith and Justin Gayle, Hazel Park.