OAA coaches pick the top players from the 2014 boys soccer season

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published December 1, 2014

 Skylar Jeppesen makes a diving save during a practice earlier this season. Jeppesen was named All-Association in the White Division.

Skylar Jeppesen makes a diving save during a practice earlier this season. Jeppesen was named All-Association in the White Division.

File photo by Sean Work


OAKLAND COUNTY — How quickly fall came and went.

At least that’s what the weather has suggested, recently.

But there was in fact a fall in 2014, and there was in fact another thrilling boys soccer season in the Oakland Activities Association.

Before the winter sports season kicks into high gear, we take a quick look back at what happened in the OAA and who the coaches picked as the top soccer players.

Red Division
As is a yearly occurrence, the Red Division was a battle to the end.

Rochester Hills Stoney Creek emerged as the division champ with a 5-1-0 record, followed by Rochester Adams (4-1-1), Troy Athens (3-1-2), Clarkston High (3-2-1), Troy High (1-2-3), Berkley High (1-5-0) and Rochester High (0-5-1).

All-Association accolades go to Jacob Cowdrey, Luke Heberling, Gino Caruso, Drew Shea, Jack Lucci and Logan Arnold, Stoney Creek; Kevin Lencioni, Lennart Zorn, Dylan Brown and Alex Kim, Adams; Torin Gebauer, Noah Arabbo, Blake Merbach, Chris Serwatka and Andrew Galczyk, Athens; Grant Gotaas, Kyle Hayes, Alex Komatz and David Posawatz, Clarkston; Nate Bladecki, Josh Brodbine, Colin MacKillop and Mitch MacDonald, Troy; Patrick Folk, Jason Wingate and Eric Braun, Berkley; and Luke Deal, Tyler Schedlbever and Luciano Errecald, Berkley.

White Division
In the White Division, Bloomfield Hills High had another stellar season, winning the division with a 10-1-1 mark. The Black Hawks were followed by Lake Orion High (9-2-1), Birmingham Seaholm (8-2-2), West Bloomfield High (3-7-2), Royal Oak High (2-7-3), Auburn Hills Avondale (2-8-2) and Beverly Hills Groves (1-8-3).

All-Association awards go to Jordan Werthman, Colin Beresford, Ryan Burke, Brady Goldstein, Kyle Petrovich and Lukas Rohr, Bloomfield Hills; Austin Lively, Richard Doll, Noah Reiber, Jason Inglis and Adam Smude, Lake Orion; Mitch Cin, Michael Kaminski, Andrew Delong, Connor Moss and Max Brown, Seaholm; Roberto Escalante, Jarrell Ku, Kyohei Endo and Skylar Jeppesen, West Bloomfield; Lucas Notarantonio, Greg Alexapoulos, Andrew Wright and Ben Huber, Royal Oak; Stuart Russ, Griffin Kubert and Owen Lilliewald, Avondale; and Ross House, Ben Levin and Isaac Thompson, Groves.

Blue Division
The Blue Division came down to the wire, and ultimately, a tie and a loss. Oxford High (6-0-1) finished one point ahead of Farmington Hills Harrison (6-1-0). North Farmington (4-1-2) was third, followed by Pontiac High (2-2-3), Lathrup Village Southfield-Lathrup (2-3-2), Farmington High (2-4-1), Ferndale High (1-5-1) and Hazel Park High (0-7-0).

All-Association honors go to Francisco Rivera-Reyes, Nick Wright, Emmanuel Ibarra, Devan deJong, Travis Alderman and Greg Knox, Oxford; David Tetaj, Ari Hollander, Brett Chasnick, Mushreq George and Randy Perkins, Harrison; Sam Zapata, Alex George, Frank Zak, Chase Shoberg and Nate Elby, North Farmington; Celestino Preciado, Nestor Morreno, Abel Fignerda and Richard Cortes, Pontiac; Seth Garrett, Jose Hernandez, Alabbas Alaamili and Abdoul Diaw, Lathrup; Dom Payne, Marc Cowenfeld and Sean Greene, Farmington; Jack Traynor, Samuele Grilli and Daniel Vann, Ferndale; and Michael Sadler, Tovel Bowie and Keith Phongphila, Hazel Park.