Attention Readers: We're Back
C&G Newspapers is pleased to have resumed publication. For the time being, our papers will publish on a biweekly basis as we work toward our return to weekly papers. In between issues, and anytime, continue to find local news on our website and look for us on Facebook and Twitter.

MIHL selects top players

Coaches from the state’s top league name best of the best from 2015-16

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published April 7, 2016

 Austin Stauffer was named All-Conference in the MIHL. He helped Orchard Lake St. Mary’s to a 6-6-0 mark in the North Division.

Austin Stauffer was named All-Conference in the MIHL. He helped Orchard Lake St. Mary’s to a 6-6-0 mark in the North Division.

Photo by Patricia O’Blenes

METRO DETROIT — There was only one state champion from the Michigan Interscholastic Hockey League during the 2015-16 season.

To some, this may have been a surprise.

But in reality, it marked the 15th time in the league’s 16-year existence that at least one team calling the MIHL home has claimed a state title.

So, shortly after the lights went out at USA Hockey Arena in Plymouth, and shortly after Novi Detroit Catholic Central claimed a third straight Division 1 title, coaches in the MIHL met to select the conference’s top players.

Here’s a look at those who were honored.


All-League nods went to the best of the best from the MIHL, highlighted by Birmingham Brother Rice’s Nick Bowman taking home MVP honors. 

Rice also had the All-League goaltender in Daniel Sendek and the All-League defenseman Jack Clement.

Joey Verkerke of Orchard Lake St. Mary’s and Alec Kreuter of Catholic Central were also honored as defensemen.

All-League forwards were Bowman, CJ Regula of Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood, Matt Hensley of Warren De La Salle, Sam Knoblauch of the University of Detroit Jesuit, Grant Reszcyk of St. Mary’s and Joe Mancinelli of Catholic Central.


North Division
Before winning a state title, the Shamrocks took home the top spot in the North Division with a 10-2-0 mark. Catholic Central was followed by Rice (9-3-0), Cranbrook (7-5-0), St. Mary’s (6-6-0) and Port Huron Northern (0-12-0).

North Division first-team honors went to Sendek, Clement, Jaret Koger, Bowman and Mitch Shults, Rice; Alec Calvaruso, Luc Krasicky, Kreutzer, Mancinelli and J.P. Lafferty, Catholic Central; Alec Regula, CJ Regula and Alex Lycet, Cranbrook; and Verkerke, Austin Stauffer and Reszcyk, St. Mary’s.

South Division
U of D Jesuit took home the top spot in the South Division with a 7-3-2 mark, followed by Trenton High (7-4-1), De La Salle (4-8-0) and Grosse Pointe North (1-11-0).

South Division first-team honors went to Joe Sant’Angelo, Grant McClellan and Brendon Morhan, Trenton; Jake Robinson, Lorenzo D’Agostini, Andrew Nasr, Knoblauch, Teddy Apap and Nick Gadowski, U of D; JP Navetta and Brendan Nelson, Grosse Pointe North; and Zack Kaiser, Andrew Francis and Hensley, De La Salle. 

For a complete All-Conference list, including those earning second team and honorable mention, visit