MAC honors softball stars

All-Conference players named

By: Thomas Franz | Madison - Park News | Published July 18, 2016

 Sarah Cherry was selected as a Macomb Area Conference Blue Division All-Conference player for her play with Grosse Pointe North.

Sarah Cherry was selected as a Macomb Area Conference Blue Division All-Conference player for her play with Grosse Pointe North.

Photo by John McTaggart


MACOMB COUNTY — Softball season concluded for teams from the Macomb Area Conference on the last day of the MHSAA calendar, which included Macomb Dakota competing for a Division 1 state championship.

Eight teams from the conference also claimed district titles this spring.

Shortly after the conclusion of the regular season, coaches from across the conference released their decisions on which athletes earned All-Conference and league Most Valuable Player honors, as well as each division’s Coach of the Year and team Sportsmanship award winner.

Dakota went undefeated in the Red Division on its way to finishing the season 34-2 and earning a spot in the MHSAA Division 1 state championship, eventually falling to Farmington Hills Mercy.

Dakota’s Kendahl Dunford earned league MVP honors, and coach Rick Fontaine won the Coach of the Year award.
Anchor Bay High won the division’s Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honors went to Dunford, Kelcie LaTour, Corbin Hison, Kelsey Ramus and Claire Hamlin, Dakota; Nikki Sorgi, Gabby Dobroczynski, Emily Karas and Maddy Goss, Utica Ford II; Morgan Gardner and Breanna Olley, Romeo High; Ashlyn Lemmen and Nicole Finazzo, Fair Haven Anchor Bay; Maddy Gapshes, St. Clair High; and Natalie O’Reilly, Utica Eisenhower.

MAC White
Utica High continued its streak of division titles by taking the MAC White crown with an 8-2 record while finishing 18-11 overall.

Utica’s Sami Torongeau picked up league MVP honors, and Deonna Giacona was named Coach of the Year.

Sterling Heights Stevenson won the division’s Sportsmanship award.

Players named to the All-Conference team were Torongeau, Jordan Bianchi, Addison Breeding, Natalie Happel and Maria McCollum, Utica; Shannon Carr, Amanda Madak, Fran Madonna and Amber Huntley, Stevenson; Gina Liss and Ivy Velazquez, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; Jordan Miller and Natalie VanDerHagen, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; Kara Hart, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; and Alexis Nowowiecki, St. Clair Shores Lakeview.

MAC Blue
Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse won the division title with a 10-2 mark before closing 2016 with a 24-10 record.

L’Anse Creuse’s Sammi Mills won league MVP honors, and her coach, Lisa Downey, was named Coach of the Year.

Marine City High claimed the Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference nods went to Mills, Brooke Nadolny, Rachel Peet, Francesca Ortisi and Lauren Korpal, L’Anse Creuse; Sami Klink, Lexi Orr, Riley Shagena and Cassidy Schott, Port Huron Northern; Victoria Blaine, Sarah Cherry and Liz Grumeretz, Grosse Pointe North; Alexis Belfiori and Casey Spencer, Fraser High; Maddie McConnell and Ruth Pohlo, Marine City; Rachel Hayes, Warren Cousino; and Lauren Sancya, Grosse Pointe South.

MAC Gold
Marysville High claimed  the MAC Gold title with an 11-1 record, just one game ahead of Port Huron High.

Marysville’s Paige Ameel won league MVP honors, while her coach, Ryan Rathje, won Coach of the Year honors.

Center Line High won the division’s Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honorees were Ameel, Lydia Sawdon, Jacqueline Rogers, Samantha Smith and Hannah Delor, Marysville High; Darian Phillips, Madeline Trombly, Jaden Bailey and Katie Newman, Port Huron High; Madison Glass, Victoria Iannucci and Alyssa Agueros, Warren Woods Tower; Amanda LeMessurier and Skyela Dodd, Center Line; Eryn Vandervlucht and Kaitlyn Hoff, Roseville High; Alyssa Jabara, Warren Mott; and Alexis Wark, Madison Heights Lamphere.

MAC Silver
New Haven High went undefeated in league play to finish 16-0 on its way to a 17-6 season overall.

Bree Bester of Eastpointe East Detroit earned league MVP honors.

The Coach of the Year title went to New Haven’s Sam Wiles.

Clawson High won the division’s Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honors went to Raychel Banks, Taylor Jones, Ashley Wiles, Shelby Koralewski and Sydney Glefke, New Haven High; Shelby Segar, Stephanie Turner and Sara Schultz, Sterling Heights High; Sydney Pyler, Vanessa Welly, Jenna Mathison and Olivia Bryant, Clinton Township Clintondale; Madison Horton, Emily Sturgis and Brynn Perron, St. Clair Shores South Lake; Bester and Hannah Whitlow, Eastpointe East Detroit; Katie Stephe nson and Maddie Sparks, Clawson High; Angel Perry and Ashley Bane, Warren Fitzgerald; Savanna McLaren, Warren Lincoln; and Allison Maiorana, Madison Heights Madison.