MAC honors best baseball players

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published June 19, 2013

The 2013 Michigan High School Athletic Association baseball season has come to a close, including another hard-fought season in each of the Macomb Area Conference’s six divisions.

The MAC leagues have named their MVP, Coach of the Year and All-League honorees.

The teams are broken down division by division.

Sterling Heights Stevenson junior Zach McGuire earned league MVP honors, with his coach, Joe Emanuele, being named MAC Red Coach of the Year. Clinton Township Chippewa Valley won the league sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are McGuire, junior Brandon Hughes, and seniors Zak Melcher and Bobby Griffin, Stevenson; seniors Travis Perkola, Chad Roskelly and Pat Boza, Macomb Dakota; senior Shane Healy, and juniors Dan Kerr and John Seaser, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; seniors Carmen Benedetti and Eddie Champane, Grosse Pointe South; juniors Dan Chmielewski and Joe Syms, Utica Eisenhower; and senior Alex Greiner, Chippewa Valley.

Stevenson went 8-2 to win the MAC Red, followed by Dakota (7-3), L’Anse Creuse North (6-4), Grosse Pointe South (5-5), Eisenhower (4-6) and Chippewa Valley (0-10).

MAC White
St. Clair High senior Hayden Robbins was named league MVP. St. Clair coach Bill McElreath earned league Coach of the Year honors. Warren Mott earned the league sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Robbins, senior Tyler Lozen, and juniors Jared Tobey and Bo Meldrum, St. Clair; senior Eric Shankin, and juniors Joe Gardner and Greg Antoine, Romeo High; senior Evan Hayden, sophomore Daniel Robinson and junior Sal Ciaravino, Grosse Pointe North; junior Dan Bailey and senior Bryton Rohde, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse; seniors Nick Maluchnik and Joey Slivik, Warren Mott; and senior Austin Greenwald, Utica Ford II.

St. Clair won the league with an 8-2 record. Romeo and Grosse Pointe North tied for second place at 7-3, followed by L’Anse Creuse (4-6), Mott (3-7) and Ford II (1-9).

MAC Blue
Port Huron High senior Evan Wagner earned league MVP honors. Port Huron High coach Adam Hoskins and Marysville coach Shawn Winston shared the league Coach of the Year award. Utica High earned the league’s sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Wagner, and sophomores Ravin Randall and Patrick Jehl, Port Huron High; juniors Jordan Dietz, Cole Pawson and Damian Chrcek, Marysville; senior Connor Kost and junior Gary Landess, Anchor Bay; juniors Jack Trimble and Luke Borkovich, Port Huron Northern; junior Jon Brown and senior David Kinsch, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; and junior Taylor Curtis, Utica High.

Port Huron High and Marysville, both at 7-3, shared the league title. Anchor Bay finished 6-4, followed by Port Huron Northern (4-6), Lake Shore (3-7) and Utica High (3-7).

MAC Gold
Warren Cousino senior Robert Cleary earned league MVP honors, while his coach, Justin Newcomb, was named league Coach of the Year. Madison Heights Lamphere won the league sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Cleary, sophomore Chris Stewart, senior Ben Barone and junior P.J. Zocharski, Cousino; senior Ryan Roman, and juniors Mike Kapala and Ian Dimitrie, Lamphere; seniors Matt Mainhardt, Kyle Cornell and Jason Hoopingarner, Fraser High; senior Danny Newton and sophomore Max Hazelton, Warren Woods Tower; junior Matt Brand and senior Nick White, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; and Marine City senior Jared Headlee, Marine City.

Cousino went undefeated (10-0) to win the league. Lamphere (8-2), Fraser (5-5), Tower (3-6), Lakeview (2-8) and Marine City (1-8) round out the division standings.

MAC Silver
Clawson High senior Craig Bynum earned league MVP honors, with his coach, Ralph Haney, winning the league Coach of the Year award. Center Line earned the league sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Bynum, senior Jake Smith, and juniors Matt Pike and David Harlukowicz, Clawson; seniors Darnell Wilson, Paul Martin and Tyler Muehlbrandt, Roseville; seniors Zach Nevedal and John Brandon, and junior Darien Cook, East Detroit; senior Kevin Stanick and junior Chuckie Grade, Sterling Heights High; seniors Justin Miner and Josh Evans, Center Line; and freshman Mike Victory, Warren Fitzgerald.

Clawson went 8-2 to win the league. Rounding out the standings are Roseville (7-3), East Detroit (5-5), Sterling Heights (5-5), Center Line (4-6) and Fitzgerald (1-9).

MAC Bronze
New Haven High senior John Green has been named league MVP. New Haven coach Joel Schmitt earned league Coach of the Year honors. Mount Clemens won the league sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees include Green, junior Dillon Peyerk, and sophomores Josh Walker and Brandon Gonzalez, New Haven; seniors Adam Wieske and Austin Hart, and junior Tyler Baatz, St. Clair Shores South Lake; senior Brad Freeman, and juniors Blake Edwards and Mitchell Blanchard, Warren Lincoln; senior Jacob Babbitt and sophomore Jordan Edwards, Clintondale; freshman Trevor Barndollar, Madison Heights Madison; senior Matt Clairmont and junior Roberto Moya, Mount Clemens.

New Haven finished 9-1 to win the league. South Lake finished second at 8-2, followed by Lincoln (6-4), Clintondale (5-5). Madison and Mount Clemens both finished 1-9 in league play.

Check upcoming editions of the paper for the All-League softball, soccer, lacrosse and golf teams.