Boys of spring honored by baseball coaches with OAA awards

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published July 2, 2015

 Nick Schneider delivers a pitch during a game this past spring. Schneider was one of five Bloomfield Hills players to earn All-Association honors in the Blue.

Nick Schneider delivers a pitch during a game this past spring. Schneider was one of five Bloomfield Hills players to earn All-Association honors in the Blue.

Photo by Donna Agusti


OAKLAND COUNTY — Competitive baseball all the way to the very end.

In some years, that’s a goal when it comes to division races and final standings.

In 2015, it was a way of life in the Oakland Activities Association.

Four division titles came down to a grand total of three games separating first and second place, with one ending in a tie.

It was a great year in the OAA around the diamond, and following the state finals, coaches throughout the league named the best of the best with the 2015 All-Association honor teams.

Here’s a look at where each team finished and who some of the top players were.

Red Division
Rochester Adams and Lake Orion High finished tied atop the Red this spring, going 10-5 in division play. Rochester Hills Stoney Creek was third at 8-7, followed by Clarkston High (7-8), Rochester High (6-9) and Oxford High (4-11).

All-Association nods go to Weylin Frisbie, Bo Lineberger, Justin Seablom, Tyler Durand and Jordan Wiley, Adams; Bay Smart, Jacob Christiansen, Cam Moller, Miles Hardy and Dillon Gibbons, Lake Orion; Eric Gilgenbach, Jordan Skidmore, Scott Reader and Brett Pokley, Stoney; DJ Zezula, Joe Popp and Jake Velisek, Clarkston; Mitch Weber and Jake Stout, Rochester; and James Rogers and Max Blackburn, Oxford.

White Division
The White Division crown came down to the final days, as West Bloomfield High finished 11-4, edging Beverly Hills Groves (10-5) by a single game. North Farmington (9-6), Farmington High (7-8), Farmington Hills Harrison (5-10) and Birmingham Seaholm (3-12) rounded out the group,

All-Association awards go to Chandler Sedat, Bobby Jones, Zach Allread, Aakif Lodhl and Clayton Kowalewski, West Bloomfield; Kyle Stratton, Malik Brown, Kyle Sherman and Zavier Warren, Groves; Brett Kramer, Evan McMurray and Will Byraconak, North Farmington; Ryan Cooke and Alex Manasa, Farmington; Jared Char and David Vinsky, Harrison; and Sam Coury, Seaholm.

Blue Division
Frank DiVito returned to head coaching in 2015 and led Bloomfield Hills to a division title in the Blue with a 9-3 record. Auburn Hills Avondale (8-4), Troy High (6-6), Troy Athens (5-7) and Berkley High (2-10) followed in the standings.

All-Association honors go to Perry Klemanski, Christian Jaworski, Nick Schneider, Grady Wildman and Matt Biermann, Bloomfield Hills; Travis Janes, Chris Andrus, Matt Moy and Brad Kavka, Avondale; Jake Howard, Erik Papardrea and David Huang, Troy; Matt Lerdahl and John Van Hoef, Athens; and Jake Cummings and Shayne Dooley, Berkley.

Gold Division
Royal Oak High hadn’t won a division title since 2007, but that all changed this spring as the Ravens went 14-1 in the Gold and ended an eight-year title drought.

Lathrup Village Southfield-Lathrup was right behind with a 13-2 mark, followed by Southfield High (7-8), Ferndale High (6-9), Hazel Park High (4-11) and Oak Park High (1-14).

All-Association nods go to Austin Sophiea, Jack Zimmerman, Dylan Lau, Cam Kollins and Dylan Dzendzel, Royal Oak; Chase Golding, Kelvin Smith, Xavier Jefferson and Jalen Thomas, Lathrup; George Osborne, Corry Oliver and Jaylen Lipsey, Southfield; Gavin Langley and Tommy Martin, Ferndale; and Kalib Thorpe, Oak Park.