New faces, incumbents elected to local school boards

By: Julie Snyder | Mount Clemens - Clinton - Harrison Journal | Published November 11, 2016


HARRISON TOWNSHIP/MACOMB TOWNSHIP/MOUNT CLEMENS — L’Anse Creuse Public Schools and Mount Clemens Community Schools will each have a new face on their respective boards soon.

During the Nov. 8 general election, Terri Spencer was elected to the L’Anse Creuse Board of Education with 13 percent of the voter support. Nine candidates were running for three six-year terms.

Spencer, a resident of Harrison Township, said she was pleasantly surprised and humbled by the number of people who voted for her (7,558).

“(That’s) compared to two incumbents that have served for years on the board and who have much more name recognition than I did,” she said. “I attribute my success at the polls with two things that voters valued: the fact that I have 30-plus years of educational leadership experience, education, relationships and connections that will benefit the board and the district, and the fact that I am blessed to know a lot of wonderful people all over our school community.”

Incumbents Mary Hilton and Sharon McTavish-Ross took the most votes with 7,865 and 7,320, respectively.

“I am, of course, very pleased about the results of the election,” Hilton stated in an email. “The support that I receive not only in this election, but daily, is profoundly appreciated. I am looking forward to working with current board members in welcoming Dr. Spencer into her new role as a BOE member and congratulate Mrs. Ross on her finish as well.”

Spencer, who has a doctor of education degree in educational leadership, said during the campaign that she went door to door and spoke with more than 600 residents. L’Anse Creuse has a student population of 10,706.

“Based on the number of people who voted for me, there were many people who shared the same or similar values and viewpoints,” she said. “In talking to hundreds of people, they learned that I genuinely love children and want the best education for each one of our L’Anse Creuse students. They also learned that I truly enjoy interacting with people in order to better understand their viewpoints and perspectives about our district, community and the global world that our children will live, work and learn in.”

Some issues that Spencer said she is looking forward to tackling include: increasing state funding levels and decreasing legislative action that is harmful to public education, finding a highly qualified and experienced educational leader to serve as the district’s next superintendent, and developing a more cohesive district governance team amongst the Board of Education and the superintendent.

Hilton agrees.

“I know that the L’Anse Creuse community is looking forward to a new Board of Education dynamic and excited about how that translates into the hiring of  a new superintendent,” she said. “I am very much looking forward to returning the focus to educating our children with our community by our new Board of Education.”

Also running for a seat on the board this year were Hilary Dubay, incumbent Jeffrey Pegg, James Munroe, Necole Cichowlas, Steven Maul and Brandon Trondle.

Mount Clemens
In Mount Clemens, four candidates, including three incumbents, ran unopposed for the four open four-year terms. Incumbents retaining their spots on the Board of Education are Ed Bruley, Earl Rickman and Jeanine Walker. The newcomer is Lori Spooner. Board member Pat Maceroni did not seek re-election.

Full election results can be found on the Macomb County clerk’s website at