Photo provided by the St. Clair Shores Historical Commission


Looking Back: 1954 fire truck

St. Clair Shores Sentinel | Published March 23, 2018

Advertisement

ST. CLAIR SHORES — This is the “delivery photo” that was taken Aug. 23, 1954, the day the new fire truck arrived at the St. Clair Shores Fire Department. It was built on a double chassis for the department by the Fire Master Corp. of Clinton Township. 

The village of St. Clair Shores purchased its first two motorized fire engines in 1927. One was kept in a garage at Jefferson Avenue and Avon Street at the “north end” of St. Clair Shores. The other was kept at the “south end” of the village at Greater Mack Avenue and California Street. Firefighters at that time were unpaid volunteers.

By the 1950s, there were fire stations on 11 Mile Road and Jefferson Avenue (just west of Police Headquarters) and at a building just west of the old post office at Harper Lake and Greater Mack avenues. These buildings housed three modern engines.

In 1956, a new station was built on 13 Mile Road and Greater Mack Avenue, and a new fire engine was purchased and housed there. Two additional stations were constructed in 1958. One was built at Sunnydale Street and Harper Avenue, with an iconic fireman’s pole for firefighters to slide down from the second floor to the first. The second station was built at Greater Mack and Harper Lake avenues. By that time, the Fire Department employed 63 paid firefighters and the chief was Earl K. Dildine, who had started with the department in 1940.

To view this image and other historical photographs, please visit the digital media archive at www.scslibrary.org.

— Submitted by Heidi Christein, Archivist, St. Clair Shores Public Library

Advertisement