Shutterstock photo

Harrison Township voters elect new treasurer, reject library millage proposal

By: Nick Mordowanec | Mount Clemens - Clinton - Harrison Journal | Published August 4, 2020


HARRISON TOWNSHIP — A total of 39.6% of Harrison Township voters hit the polls Aug. 4 and voted by absentee ballot.

Republicans were the featured party in this primary, with Republican challengers in the clerk, treasurer and trustee races posing the only immediate impact on local politics.

According to unofficial results reported by the Macomb County Clerk/Register of Deeds Office, with 100% of local precincts reporting, incumbent Harrison Township Clerk Adam Wit will serve another four years as he defeated challenger Lisa Sinclair 63% to 37% Tuesday. It will be his third term.

Incumbent Treasurer Darrin York, who was first elected to the same position in 2004, lost to former trustee Larry Tomenello, who won about 56% of the vote. Tomenello had served three terms as trustee and forfeited his position to run for treasurer.

Three Democratic trustee candidates— Rhonda Warner, Loreen Dennis and C. William Bardill—automatically move on to the November election. On the Republican side, the top four highest vote getters who will advance are Paula Rose, Brian Batkins, David Bratto and Dean Olgiati. Those seven will compete for four trustee seats in November. 

The Harrison Township Public Library millage, for 1 mill over a 10-year period, failed by a 57.5% to 42.5% margin. A current .5 millage still exists and lasts until 2023.

There were 8,175 votes cast in total, including 5,484 absentee ballots returned.