Fraser voters elect new mayor

By: April Lehmbeck | Fraser - Clinton Township Chronicle | Published November 9, 2011


FRASER – There’s a new mayor in town.

Voters on Nov. 8 chose Doug Hagerty to sit at the head of the council table as the city’s new mayor over incumbent Mayor Moe Geromette.

Hagerty took almost 57 percent of the votes in the race.

There also will be a new council member at the table with the election of Paul Cilluffo, who got 18 percent of the votes. He came in third after incumbents Daniel Accavitti and Barbara Jennings, who took about 24 percent and 22 percent of the votes.

Challengers Roberta Parisi and Vince Calabrese lost their bids for a seat the council with slightly more than 17 percent of the votes each.

Incumbents regained all of their seats on the Fraser School Board.

School board members Carole Bannister, Gerard Gauthier and Linda Corbat won six-year terms over challenger Mark Snay. Laura Edghill and Deborah Hurren were reelected to two partial terms ending in December 2015 and incumbent Ron DelVillano ran unopposed for a partial term ending December 2013.

Voter turnout in Fraser topped 30 percent of registered voters, which was higher than the county average of about 21 percent.