McCardell, Deel join City Council

By: Linda Shepard | Rochester Post | Published November 15, 2017

ROCHESTER HILLS — Jenny McCardell and Ryan Deel are the city’s newest City Council members, according to unofficial results from the Oakland County Elections Division.

McCardell defeated incumbent Kevin Brown for the council’s at-large seat in a tight race — receiving 4,025 votes to Brown’s 3,986 votes.

Deel received 890 votes, defeating opponent Ryan Smith, who received 494 votes. Deel will fill the seat of Thomas Wiggins, representing the city’s District 4.

Incumbents Stephanie Morita and Jim Kubicina, from District 1 and District 2, respectively, ran unopposed. According to Oakland County officials, voter turnout for the Nov. 7 election was approximately 20 percent.

“I am eager to get to work on City Council,” Deel said in an email. “The bar has been set extremely high. Rochester Hills was recently named by USA Today as the most livable city in Michigan, 14th in the nation, but we are not about to rest on our laurels. We intend to continue to provide high-quality services and amenities to residents.”

“I can’t wait to get to work for all of our residents,” McCardell said in an email. “Rochester Hills is a wonderful community, with diversity and character, and I’m going to work hard to ensure that all of our voices are heard and that they matter. As I was throughout my campaign, I will be available and accessible to our residents to ensure that their voice is being heard in all city matters.”

McCardell and Deel will be sworn in Nov. 16 and will begin four-year terms on the Rochester Hills City Council at the first meeting of the council Nov. 20.

The Rochester Hills City Council consists of seven council members, including four district members and three at-large members. Council members are elected to four-year terms and, due to term limiting, can serve no more than two terms for a maximum of eight years.