Softball’s brightest stars

OAA coaches tip hats to top players in conference after 2014 season

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published June 27, 2014

 Southfield High’s Brittany Hill takes a swing in a game earlier this season. She was named OAA All-Association.

Southfield High’s Brittany Hill takes a swing in a game earlier this season. She was named OAA All-Association.

Photo by Deb Jacques

Summer has officially taken hold, distancing itself from what was a rainy, cool and otherwise unpredictable spring.

But softball coaches in the Oakland Activities Association made one final gesture to the girls on their rosters once the season ended, tipping their hats to the best of the best, officially naming those deserving of All-Association accolades.

“It was another great year for our league,” Rochester Adams coach Fran Scislowicz said. “I think you see how tough it was at the top of each division, especially in ours, where we tied for a title. Three of the four divisions came down to the very end, and that’s what you like.”

Red Division
Lake Orion High was nearly perfect in capturing the Red Division, going 9-1. Troy High (6-4) placed second, and was followed by Clarkston High (5-5), Troy Athens (5-5), North Farmington (4-6) and Beverly Hills Groves (1-9).

Lake Orion’s Joe Woityra earned Coach of the Year, while All-Association accolades go to Sierra Gonzalez, Kennedi Thomas, Alex Carpenter, Kayla Knoblock and Rachel Dolland, Lake Orion; Sydney Heath, Ashley Messina, Cori Mittelbrun and Sally Muller, Troy; Haley Zemmer, Lauren Genereau and Amanda Mildfelt, Athens; Megan Keller and Nikki Wald, North Farmington; and Savannah Tatum, Groves.

White Division
The White was, by far, the closest division. Rochester High and Rochester Adams finished with identical 9-1 records and shared the top spot. Rochester Hills Stoney Creek (6-4) was third, followed by Farmington Hills Harrison (2-8), Farmington High (2-8) and Oxford High (2-8).

Rochester’s Laura Guzman was Coach of the Year, while All-Association honors go to Haley Lenderman, Emily Smith, Rose Myers, Alex Brinkman and Katie Swart, Rochester; Kelly McCasland, Kristen Noack, Hannah Ballentine, Samantha Baker and Juliet Filbin, Adams; Jen Semaan, Sara Beyer and Casey Cribbs, Stoney; Chertl Banas and Skye Donaldson, Oxford; Trycia Piontek and Sarah Gallagher, Farmington; and Nora Battersby and Sydnee Bland, Harrison.

Blue Division
Berkley High was seeing Blue in 2014, and that was a good thing. The Bears took home the division title with an 8-2 mark. Birmingham Seaholm (6-4) was second, followed by Bloomfield Hills High (6-4), Auburn Hills Avondale (5-5), West Bloomfield High (5-5) and Royal Oak High (0-10).

Berkley skipper Megan Colligan was Coach of the Year, while All-Association honors go to Jessica Steele, Hannah Mulcahy, Hayley DeBene, Madalyn Morrissey and Elaina Adams, Berkley; Riley Miller, Christine Dennis, Meghan Flynn and Maddy Cormier, Seaholm; Mary Olesnavich, Liz Snyder, Olivia Kassab and Mary Grace Owens, Bloomfield Hills; Jordan Lockhart and Brooke Sawyers, Avondale; Danielle Kus and Natalie Rosenau, West Bloomfield; and Madisyn Glenn, Royal Oak.

Gold Division
Ferndale High closed out play in the Gold Division unblemished, taking home the title with an 8-0 record. Hazel Park High placed second (6-2), followed by Southfield High (4-4), Lathrup Village Southfield-Lathrup (2-6) and Oak Park High (0-8).

Akilah Evans earned Coach of the Year after guiding Ferndale to the top spot. All-Association accolades go to Espacia Fotiu, Claire Crocker, Shelby Simpson, Shelby Slabiak and Emily Kulick, Ferndale; Mackenzie McClellan, Jenna Cole, Micah Unternaher and Cheyenne Ferris, Hazel Park; Brittany Hill, Dorian Medley and Tyler Washington, Southfield; Azia Vick and Le’Tera Cleveland, Lathrup; and Rayven Sheppard, Oak Park.