OAA honors boys tennis players with All-Association honors

By: Christian Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published December 11, 2012

Of all the boys tennis talent in the state, the hub resides in Oakland County, the Oakland Activities Association, in particular.

This season, the conference had 10 teams that made it to the state finals, earning their stripes battling one another during the regular season.

Here’s a look at how each team finished in its divisions and the players who made the greatest impacts on the court.

Troy High took the crown, winning the league tournament and finishing 7-0 in the dual portion.

Rochester Adams was second and Birmingham Groves placed third.

Bloomfield Hills Andover, West Bloomfield High, Rochester Hills Stoney Creek, Bloomfield Hills Lahser and North Farmington rounded out the rest of the division.

Individually, Brett Forman, Saumil Shah, Vinaj Reddy and Pramod Mulabagula, Troy; Justin Hyman and Charles Xu, Adams; Calvin Greer and Evan Ketai, Groves; Dylan Deitch, Cuthbert Sun, Brandon Alexander and Sanjay Reddy, Andover; Kevin Rothstein and Jordan Asker, West Bloomfield; Nick Fiaschetti, Chris Stanbury, Jake Kruk and Vlad Olstean, Stoney Creek; Michael Daniels, Lahser; and Andrew Murtland, Griffin Mertz and Rob Chapekis, North Farmington, were named All-Association.

OAA White
Birmingham Seaholm was perfect, winning the league tournament and going 6-0 overall.

Athens was just behind, finishing second in the tournament and dual portion at 5-1 overall.

Clarkston High, Rochester High, Berkley High, Lake Orion High and Auburn Hills Avondale made up the rest of the division.

All-Association honorees are Zaven Dadian, Rocko Gibout, Jason Mondry, Ben McDermott, Kenji Johnston, Zach Tayler and Griffin Neal, Seaholm; Richard Zhang, Eric Flewelling and Jason Potter, Athens; Ian Stuart and Matt Dahl, Clarkston; Collin Perozich, Torre Rocco, Axl Patalinghug and Scott Schlagel, Rochester; Noah Kretchner, Berkley; Ryan Kaczor and Jesse Keller, Lake Orion; and Kevin Yang, Avondale.

OAA Blue
Farmington High won its championship, going 5-0 in duals and winning the league tournament.

Farmington Hills Harrison finished second and Royal Oak High came in third.

Ferndale High, Southfield-Lathrup and Southfield High rounded out the division.

All-Association honorees are Rohit Bhadange, Austin Maley, Henri Medwed, Prakash Pagadala and Thejas Ragava, Farmington; Dylan Collins, Tyler Wilson, Devin Weerasinghe and Scott Butts, Harrison; Mac Lewis, Jesse Friedman and Max Petit, Royal Oak; Keith Waldrup and Jacob Keller, Ferndale; Donovan Latrell, Lathrup; and Clifford Lyons, Southfield.