MIHL coaches honor 2013-14 group with All-Conference nods

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published April 2, 2014

He’s said it before, and likely will again, but Michigan Interscholastic Hockey League President Andy Weidenbach has never been afraid to boast about his league, and the teams and players that make it up.

This year was no different.

“I thought this was another great season for our conference,” said Weidenbach, who is also the coach of Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood. “Each team had some great players, and it turned into a lot of tight games against one another.”

All of those tough contests seemed to pay off when MIHL teams took on the rest of the state in the 2014 playoffs, where Novi Detroit Catholic Central (Division 1) and Trenton High (Division 2) came away with state championships.

“I think that success demonstrated, year in and year out, how competitive this league really is,” Weidenbach said.

So, to honor the guys that make the league to special, the 10 MIHL coaches recently released the 2013-14 honor teams.

First up in the awards show was the All-League selection, more or less the All-Stars of the season from both divisions.

Trenton’s Nick Ramirez was the lone goaltender named after going 10-2-2 in division play with 1.69 goals against and a .938 save percentage.

On the defensive front, Catholic Central’s Carter Cerretani, Cranbrook’s Cooper Stahl and Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Anthony Scarsella all earned nods.

At the forward spot, Cranrbook’s Christopher Brown earned All-League while being named Most Valuable Player in the conference after scoring 11 goals and handing out 28 assists in 13 league games.

Line mates Sam Miletic (22 goals, 21 assists) and Austin Alger (9, 12) also earned All-League.

Trenton’s Justin Dunn rounded out the top honors at forward.

North Division
Cranbrook took home its second straight North Division crown with a 12-1-0 mark. Catholic Central (10-3-0), St. Mary’s (7-5-2), Birmingham Brother Rice (7-6-0) and Port Huron Northern (2-11-0) round out the standings.

First-team accolades go to Spencer Applebaum, Stahl, Jack Blumberg, Brown, Miletic and Alger, Cranbrook; Spencer Wright, Luke Turner, Cerretani, Ryan Burnett and Mitchell Ossowski, Catholic Central; Scarsella and Sam Nardicchio, St. Mary’s; and Blake Bazzi, Brother Rice.

Second-team honors go to Tristan Need and Noah Gilreath, Cranbrook; Michael Ronayne, Connor Gaffney and James Considine, Catholic Central; Bobby Cross, Conner Jean, Matt Manning and Matt Riggleman, Brother Rice; Brennan Blaszczak, St. Mary’s; and Brendan Shagena, Port Huron Northern.


South Division
Before winning a state title, Trenton took home the South Division crown with a 10-2-1 record, while the University of Detroit Jesuit was second at 9-4-0, followed by Warren De La Salle (4-9-0), Wyandotte Roosevelt (3-10-0) and Grosse Pointe North (0-13-0).

First-team honors go to Ramirez, Conor Cunningham, Dunn, Andrew Sawyer and Mitch Galea, Trenton; Nick Sandercott and Joey Mastej, De La Salle; Matt Meininger, Tam Apap and Brian Hubbard, U of D; and Joe Smellie and Josh Hinderliter, Wyandotte.

Second-team honors go to Nicholas Trajceyski and Trevor Reno, De La Salle; Josh Champney and Nick Murray, Grosse Pointe North; Mike Kinney, Quinn Preston and Phillip Pugliese, Trenton; and Joe Garbes, Jack Deines, Matt Morgan, Sam Knoblauch and Christian Wirth-Karbler, U of D.

To see more All-Conference honor teams in the MIHL, including honorable-mention recipients, visit www.mihl.org.