Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed


Metro Detroit

Macomb Area Conference’s best girls soccer players honored

July 9, 2014

» click to enlarge «
Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse junior Morgam Hanagan has been named to the All-Conference squad in the MAC Blue Division. Hanagan is pictured during a match against Port Huron High.

Another season of Macomb Area Conference girls soccer has come and gone, and at season’s end, the league’s five divisions were well-represented in the state tournament.

Two MAC Red Division teams — Utica Eisenhower and Utica Ford II — made up half of the Division 1 final four. Eisenhower advanced to play in the D-1 state championship match. Twenty of 33 MAC teams finished with records better than .500 in divisional play.

With the girls soccer season complete, the league has named its top players, honoring standouts with All-Conference recognition.

All-Conference teams have been released for each division, along with Most Valuable Player, Coach of the Year and Sportsmanship awards.

Here’s a division-by-division breakdown of the honored individual teams.

MAC Red Division

Utica Eisenhower senior Caitlin Carroll earned her second straight league MVP honor. Eagles coach Mehrdad Nekoogar won his second consecutive Coach of the Year award. Grosse Pointe North received the Sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Carroll, juniors Paige Duda and Isabella Pollozollo, senior Jillian Doss and sophomore Morgan Mooty, Eisenhower; freshman Cecilia Steinwascher, senior Amanda Mladenovski, sophomore Molly Vanderhoft and junior Bella Sortzi, Utica Ford II; seniors Kathy Collins, Ellie Zak and Franny Weber, Grosse Pointe South; senior Raechel Eck, sophomore Jamie Moceri and senior Angela Bucci, Sterling Heights Stevenson; sophomore Gabby Deduvukaj and senior Morgan Dushaj, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; and junior Justine Lynn, Grosse Pointe North.

Eisenhower went 9-1-0 in league pay to claim its fifth consecutive league championship. Ford II finished second with a 7-3-0 mark, followed by Grosse Pointe South (6-3-1), Stevenson (4-5-1), Chippewa Valley (2-8-0) and Grosse Pointe North (1-9-0).

MAC White Division

Anchor Bay senior Hilerie Schatzle was named league MVP, while her coach, Kevin Grammens, earned his second straight Coach of the Year award. Madison Heights Lamphere took home the Sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Schatzle, and juniors Emily Zweng, Whitney Fleming, Hannah Walny and Alexis Kachalla, Anchor Bay; senior Carson Janssen, sophomore Kayla Roodbeen, and juniors Ashley Johnson and Scottie Falkenhagen, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; senior Kylie Wiegand, and sophomores Harley Gorzelski and Megan Pace, Macomb Dakota; seniors Jesse VanGampelaere and Emily Bondy, and junior Julia Stewart, Fraser High; senior Elena Simopolous and sophomore Amy Misze, Utica High; and senior Alexis Hilliard, Madison Heights Lamphere.

Anchor Bay finished league play with a 9-1-2 mark and won its second straight league title. L’Anse Creuse North placed second at (8-1-3), followed by Dakota (7-2-3), Fraser (6-4-2), Utica High (4-6-2), Romeo (1-10-1) and Lamphere (0-11-1).

MAC Blue Division

Port Huron Northern sophomore Hannah Jones earned league MVP honors, while St. Clair Shores Lake Shore coach Dave Lount was named league Coach of the Year. Sterling Heights High was given the league Sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Jones, senior Devin Tomlinson, freshman Jenna Koppinger and junior Marie Mullally, Port Huron Northern; sophomore Ashley Romanowski, freshman Shannon Marsh, juniors Kaitlyn Bartl and Maryann Davye, and freshman Megan Davey, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; seniors Jessica Witt, Rebecca Penny and Samantha Uppleger, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; sophomore Lexy Paul, senior Mackenzie Vespa and junior Morgan Hanagan, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse; junior Katie Vitella and sophomore Maddie Noechel, Warren Cousino; seniors Britney Schafer and Amanda Kruse, Port Huron High; and senior Miranda Smith, Sterling Heights High.

Lake Shore finished league play at 10-0-2 to claim its first league championship since 2008. Port Huron Northern was next at 8-3-1, followed by Lakeview (7-3-2), L’Anse Creuse (6-5-1), Cousino (5-5-2), Port Huron (1-10-0) and Sterling Heights High (0-11-0).

MAC Gold Division

Marine City junior Jessica Darga was named league MVP, while her coach, Dave Fremont, earned league Coach of the Year honors. Marysville and Warren Woods Tower shared the Sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Darga, senior Christy Routheaux, juniors Olivia Viney and Alexiss Woodard, and freshmen Emilie Andrews and Sarah Boronda, Marine City; senior Nicole Denny, junior Mackenzie Kent, sophomore Kelsie Kaczperski and freshman Hannah Badke, St. Clair High; sophomore Sam Sherman, senior Lizzie Paquin and freshman Alexis Whisnant, Clawson High; seniors Emily Hall, Kaite Durham and Serena Munoz, Marysville; freshman Lauren Ross and Julia Luzod, Warren Mott; junior Emily Schulte and senior Stefanie Degiovanni, Warren Woods Tower; and senior Megan Juncaj, Roseville High.

Marine City finished league play at 9-1-2 to win its first league title since 2009. St. Clair High finished second at 9-2-1, followed by Clawson (7-2-3), Mott (6-6-0), Marysville (6-6-0), Tower (1-11-0) and Roseville (1-11-0).

MAC Silver Division

St. Clair Shores South Lake senior Lauren Guirlanda won league MVP honors, while New Haven coach Derek Wagner was named league Coach of the Year. Warren Fitzgerald received the Sportsmanship award.

All-League honorees are Guirlanda, sophomore Stephanie Cardno, junior Jessica McClinton, sophomore Taylor Morgan and junior Courtney Little, South Lake; senior Maya Abouya, junior Breezy Adinaryan and senior Marhena Somo, Center Line; sophomore Klarissa Wagner, senior Kala Boels, junior Skyler Katchak and sophomore Tina Shuti, New Haven; juniors Renee Brewart and Kaitlyn Van Tuil, Fitzgerald; and senior Alyssa Komlenovich, sophomore Sarah Hall and junior Ashlee Gebstadt, East Detroit High.

South Lake went 10-0-0 to claim its fourth straight league championship. New Haven was next in the league standings at 8-2-0, followed by Center Line (5-2-1), East Detroit (4-5-1), Fitzgerald (2-8-0) and Madison Heights Madison (0-10-0).


You May Be Interested In