Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Macomb County

MAC honors top local girls soccer players

June 29, 2012

Another competitive season of Macomb Area Conference’s girls soccer is in the books

Here’s a look back at how each team fared in its division and the elite players who helped shape their teams’ destiny.

Red Division
Utica Eisenhower (10-0-0) finished first, followed by Grosse Pointe South (6-2-2), Grosse Pointe North (4-4-2), Utica Stevenson (3-6-1), Utica Ford II (2-6-2) and Chippewa Valley (1-8-1).

Ike’s Sophie Maccagnone was named Most Valuable Player, and Ike’s Mehrdad Nekoogar was tabbed as Coach of the Year. Chippewa won the Team Sportsmanship award.

Earning All-Conference honors are Maccagnone, Heather Piccarello, Lacey Zahn, Jennifer Jurcak and Caitlin Carroll, Ike; Dani Manning, Claire DeBoer, Anastasia Diamond and Charlotte Burns, South; Chrisa Kouskoulas, Nadia McKee and Justine Lynn, North; Jenna Anderson and Raechel Eck, Stevenson; Lauren Vanderhoff and Vanessa Mladenovski, Ford; and Kayla Werthmann, Chippewa.

White Division
Fraser High (12-0-0) won the league, followed by Anchor Bay (9-2-1), Madison Heights Lamphere (6-3-3), Utica High (3-7-2), Romeo High (3-7-2), Macomb L’Anse Creuse North (1-6-5) and St. Clair Shores Lakeview (0-9-3).

Fraser’s Rachel DeLuca and Thaier Mukhtar took home MVP and Coach of the Year honors, respectively. Utica won the Team Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honorees are DeLuca, Amanda Mathy, Hanna Harris, Madi Speck and Jesse VanGampelaere, Fraser; Michelle Dear, Daniella Bruce, Hunter Dolan and Christy Burko, Anchor Bay; Brianna Smith, Alexis Hilliard and Chelsea Thompson, Lamphere; Megan Ross, Megan Horan and Capri Rinke, Utica; Marina Manzo and Elizabeth Marcu, Romeo; Marisa Oleksiak and Carson Janssen, North; and Sarah Economeas and Jessica Innes, Lakeview.

Blue Division
Macomb Dakota (9-0-3) won the title, followed by Warren Cousino (7-1-4), Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse (7-3-2), Sterling Heights High (6-5-1), St. Clair Shores Lake Shore (5-5-2), Port Huron Northern (2-10-0) and Port Huron High (0-12-0).

Sterling’s Jessie Kluz won MVP honors, while Dakota’s Mark Ruth was Coach of the Year. Lake Shore won the Team Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honorees are Kristina Sobel, Rebecca Hark, Kylie Wiegand, Olivia Ross and Kristina Neumayr, Dakota; Jessica Behnke, Nicole Propst, Blaire Schmanlenberg and Shannon Sugamele, Cousino; Sarah Prevost, Joelle Marino and Aly Pfahl, L’Anse Creuse; Jessie Kluz, Miranda Smith and Sammi Kluz, Sterling; Megan Stella and Jordan Morgan, Lake Shore; Casey Fealko and Devin Tomlinson, Northern; and Erica Oriel, Port Huron.

Gold Division
Clawson High (10-1-1) finished first, followed by St. Clair High (10-2-0), Marysville High (7-4-1), Marine City (6-5-1), Warren Woods Tower (5-6-1), Warren Mott (1-11-0) and Roseville High (1-11-0).

Clawson’s Sam Airriess and Jared Kullman took home MVP and Coach of the Year honors, respectively. Tower won the Team Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honorees are Airriess, Taylor Kaufman, Ashley Tarr, Emily Hirt and Taylor Wright, Clawson; Courtney Ingles, Lauen Dombeck, Lauren Bondy and Taylor Johnson, St. Clair; Haylee Booms, Andrea Curass and Emily Hall, Marysville; Natalie Werner and Lindsey Kroll, Tower; Kayla Rossow, Natalie Noble and Christy Routhax, Marine City; Chelsea Meador and Lauren Harriman, Mott; and Sophie Baker and Holly Hedemark, Roseville.

Silver Division
St. Clair Shores South Lake (12-0-0) won the division, followed by Center Line High (8-2-2), East Detroit (6-2-4), New Haven High (5-7-0), Warren Fitzgerald (3-6-3), Madison Heights Madison (3-8-1) and Mount Clemens (0-12-0).

South Lake’s Lauren Giurlanda won MVP honors, and Fitzgerald’s Stacey Bollan was tabbed as Coach of the Year. Mount Clemens won the Team Sportsmanship award.

All-Conference honorees are Giurlanda, Diana Olechiw, Rachel Schnell, Emily Taylor and Amber McGee, South Lake, Emily Moyers, Sarah Riehl, Genna Lee and Celina Yang, Center Line; Emily Cranston, Adrinna Ortiz, Kayla Varacelli and April Schlesinger, East Detroit; Kaitlyn Vantuil and Hannah Kriss, Fitzgerald and Pearle Sipsock, Mount Clemens.


You May Be Interested In