MAC’s best boys basketball players recognized

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published March 28, 2012

 East Detroit senior Robert Davenport, pictured, was named to the MAC White All-Conference team along with classmate Joe Anderson

East Detroit senior Robert Davenport, pictured, was named to the MAC White All-Conference team along with classmate Joe Anderson

Photo by Deb Jacques

The latest dogfight of in the boys basketball season has come and gone for each of the squads in the 36-team Macomb Area Conference.

While L’Anse Cresue North was the only team still alive at press time — the Crusaders were in the Class A state semis — several teams, including Madison, Mount Clemens and Clawson, continued their success, while others brought district titles to their home schools for the first time in a long time, including the Clintondale Dragons.

All-Conference teams have once again been chosen, along with league Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year in each division.

Red Division

LCN, at 11-1, won the Red Division by three games over Romeo and Chippewa Valley, which both finished 8-3. Eisenhower was next at 7-5, followed by Dakota (6-6), Ford II (1-11) and L’Anse Creuse (1-11).

L’Anse Creuse North junior Tyler Conklin earned the league Most Valuable Player honor, while his coach, Jay Seletksy, was named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference selections are Conklin, sophomore Frank DeVos and junior Rob Hopkins, LCN; senior Max Phillips and sophomore Drew Cushingberry, Romeo; senior Trent Jax and junior Xavian Edwards, Chippewa Valley; sophomores Alex Frascone and Dan Chmielewski, Eisenhower; sophomore DJ Lazarus, Dakota; and senior Les Olson, Ford II.

White Division

After finishing last just two seasons ago, Utica went 10-2 in winning the league. Cousino came in second at 9-3, followed by Grosse Pointe North (7-5) and East Detroit (7-5), Roseville (5-7), Grosse Pointe South (3-9) and Port Huron Northern (1-11).

Utica High senior Mighael Hollingsworth was named the league MVP. Utica High coach Gerry Kraemer took Coach of the Year honors.

All-Conference selections include Hollingsworth, seniors Josh Hart and Andrew Thompson, Utica; seniors Corey Dunaj, Troy Cross and Drew McGuire, Cousino; seniors Robert Davenport and Joe Anderson, East Detroit; senior Matt Noble, Roseville; senior Kevin Reck, Grosse Pointe South; and senior Derrick Morris, Grosse Pointe North.

Blue Division

Madison High took home the league crown this season, finishing with an unblemished 12-0 mark. Fitzgerald (8-4), Fraser (7-5), Stevenson (6-6), Mott (6-6), Port Huron (2-10) and Anchor Bay (1-11) rounded out the division race.

Madison High senior Damon Bozeman played his way to the league MVP award, while his coach, Steve Rhoads, won league Coach of the Year honors.

All-Conference selections are Bozeman and senior Will Bradley, Madison; junior Nolan Linville and senior Isaac Williams, Fraser; senior Kevin Marnon and junior Tyler Sykes, Stevenson; seniors Gerod Maples and Shamel Ahmed, Fitzgerald; seniors Tommie Bell and Victor Sharpe, Mott; and senior Alex Zmolik, Port Huron.

Gold Division

Mount Clemens (10-2) won the division for the third straight year. Behind the Bathers in the standings are New Haven (9-3), St. Clair (8-4), Sterling Heights (8-4), Warren Woods Tower (5-7), Lincoln (2-10) and South Lake (0-12).

Mount Clemens swept the league awards, as junior Jeremy Landers won league MVP and coach Kurt Wilson was named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference selections include Landers, seniors Jeremy Carrell, Xavier Holmes and Antoine Smith, Mount Clemens; juniors Rayshawn Griffin and Jamael Bell, New Haven; seniors Tommy Ivezaj and Stacey Miller, Sterling Heights, senior Joe Zannetti and junior Michael Patchak, Warren Woods Tower; and junior Travon DeSeassure, South Lake.

Silver Division

Clawson won its second straight division title, going 13-1. Lakeview (10-4), Marysville (9-5), Clintondale (8-6), Lamphere (5-9), Lake Shore (5-9), Marine City (4-10) and Center Line (2-12) round out the division.

Lakeview junior Robert Shields won the league MVP award, while Clawson coach Billy Shellenbarger was named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference selections include Shields and senior Gary Tilney, Lakeview; seniors DeShawn Gilbert, Tywaun Watkins and junior Marquian Johnson, Clawson; junior Matt Russell and senior Sean Farnsworth, Marysville; senior Kyle Styles and junior Tyrone Moore, Clintondale; junior Sam Honaker, Marine City; senior Jay Junkin, Lamphere; and senior Chris Bolus, Lake Shore.