All-MAC teams honor best local boys basketball players

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published April 1, 2013

Another Macomb Area Conference boys basketball season has come and gone for the 36 teams in the league.

Each team in the five-division conference saw different results, with some squads seeing success over the course of the regular and postseason, and others battling through tough campaigns.

All-MAC teams have been released, as players from each division have been honored for the 2012-13 season.

Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year awards have been released, as well.

Here is a division-by-division breakdown of all the honorees.

Macomb L’Anse Creuse North senior guard Tyler Conklin earned league MVP honors, while his coach, Jay Seletsky, was named Coach of the Year.

All-MAC honorees are Conklin, senior guard Rob Hopkins, senior forward Ramone Griffin and junior forward Frank DeVos, LCN; junior guard Drew Cushingberry, Romeo; senior forward Daymen Hardges, Warren Cousino; junior forward Dan Chmielewski, senior guard Joey Zerafa and junior guard Alek Frascone, Utica Eisenhower; junior forward Brian Orr, Macomb Dakota; and senior guard Jerry Taylor, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley.

With an 11-1 record, LCN captured a second straight league title. Ike finished second at 8-4, followed by Cousino (7-5), Dakota (6-6), Romeo (5-7), Chippewa Valley (4-8) and East Detroit (1-11).

MAC White
Warren Mott senior forward Keith Phillips won league MVP. Marauders coach Jeff Olind was named Coach of the Year.

All-MAC honorees are Phillips, junior swingman Kenny Goins and senior guard Blake Jackson, Mott; senior guard Tyler Sykes, senior forward Darrin Futch and senior guard Brandon Hughes, Sterling Heights Stevenson; junior swingman Elijah Collier, Roseville; junior forward Justin Kennedy and junior guard Jacob Zacharias, Grosse Pointe North; senior guard Joe Guido, Utica Ford II; and senior forward John Johnson, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse.

Mott went 12-0 to win the MAC White, giving the Marauders their first league title since the 2009-10 season. Stevenson came in second at 9-3, followed by Grosse Pointe North (6-6), Ford II (6-6), Roseville (5-7), L’Anse Creuse (3-9) and Utica High (1-11).

MAC Blue
Warren Fitzgerald senior guard Mizell Lipett earned league MVP honors, while his coach, Joe Kopicki, was named Coach of the Year.

All-MAC honorees are Lipett, junior forward Tony Jackson and senior guard Andre Higgins, Fitzgerald; senior center Nolan Linville, and senior guards Justin Hudson and Zach Ferguson, Fraser High; senior guard Trace Grain, Port Huron Northern; senior guard Everette Boone, Port Huron High; senior center Logan Merrick, Anchor Bay; and senior forward Nick Wallace and junior guard Devon Payne, Madison Heights Madison.

With an 11-1 mark, Fitzgerald won the Blue for the Spartans’ first league title since the 2001-02 season. Fraser finished second at 10-2, followed by Madison (5-7), Port Huron Northern (5-7), Port Huron High (4-8), Grosse Pointe South (4-8) and Anchor Bay (3-9).

MAC Gold
Warren Lincoln senior guard Brandon Hicks won league MVP, while New Haven coach Tedaro France was named league Coach of the Year.

All-MAC honorees are Hicks and senior center Dayshawn Hampton, Lincoln; sophomore guard Josh McFolley and junior forward Dorian Armstrong, Mount Clemens; seniors Rayshawn Griffin, Tedaro France III and Jamael Bell, New Haven; senior forward Michael Patchak and junior forward Tawuan Chestnut, Warren Woods Tower; junior guard Mark Berishaj, Sterling Heights High; and junior forward Marquian Johnson, Clawson.

Mount Clemens went 11-1 in league play to capture its fourth straight MAC Gold title. New Haven went 10-2 to place second, followed by Tower (8-4), Lincoln (5-7), Sterling Heights High (3-9), Clawson (3-9) and St. Clair High (2-10).

MAC Silver
St. Clair Shores Lakeview senior forward Robert Shields won league MVP honors for a second consecutive year. Huskies coach John Carr earned Coach of the Year honors after guiding Lakeview to its first division title since 1982.

All-MAC honorees are Shields and senior forward Gary Tilney, Lakeview; senior center Lamont Nelson and senior guard Marquis Chavez, Clinton Township Clintondale; senior guard Matt Russell, Marysville; senior guard Sam Honaker, Marine City; senior guard Anthony Terry and senior forward Montez Foutner, St. Clair Shores South Lake; junior forward Renard Mincey, Center Line; junior swingman Jon Brown, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; and senior center Tarius Hagood and senior guard Jalen Thomas, Madison Heights Lamphere.

Lakeview and Clintondale went 12-2 to share the league title, followed by Marysville (9-5), South Lake (7-7), Marine City (6-8), Lake Shore (4-10), Center Line (4-10) and Lamphere (2-12).