MAC recognizes top girls soccer players

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published July 5, 2019

 Warren Mott’s Nicole Wrobel looks to make a play in a game this past season. Wrobel earned All-League honors in the Macomb Area Conference Blue Division.

Warren Mott’s Nicole Wrobel looks to make a play in a game this past season. Wrobel earned All-League honors in the Macomb Area Conference Blue Division.

Photo by Patricia O’Blenes

MACOMB COUNTY — The coaches in the Macomb Area Conference’s five divisions have once again handed out honors for standout soccer players. That includes MVPs, Coaches of the Year, Sportsmanship Award winners and All-League honorees.

Following is a breakdown of award winners in each of the five MAC divisions.

New Baltimore Anchor Bay’s Ally Gaunt and Kevin Grammens earned league MVP and Coach of the Year, respectively. Grosse Pointe South earned the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Gaunt, Karina Arnold, Isabella Hunter, Megan Buchan and Grace Wolf, Anchor Bay; Sarah Frederick, Molly Clark, Fara Serra and Hannah Lerner, Macomb Dakota; Lauren Debeau, Sarah Faloon and Megan Sidaway, Utica Eisenhower; Meghan Gallagher, Madeline Mills and Ava Slander, Grosse Pointe North; Jessica Koje and Jenna Vasquez, Utica Ford II; and Jordan Zak, Grosse Pointe South.

Anchor Bay went 7-0-3 to win the division. Dakota and Eisenhower were next at 7-2-1. Grosse Pointe North finished at 3-6-1, followed by Ford (2-8-0) and Grosse Pointe South (1-9-0).

MAC White
Macomb L’Anse Creuse North’s Ashley Koch was named MVP. Romeo High’s Trevor Foster earned the league Coach of the Year award, and Utica High received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Koch, Emma Kozicki, Emilie Clayton and Haley Bennett, L’Anse Creuse North; Chloe Lucci, LaBrene Polyzois, Samantha Springer, Karia Johannes and Joscelyn Russo, Romeo; Madison Saleh, Kerrigan Conner, Matison Gennette and Leah Cinder, Fraser High; Emma Stavale, Alexa Barczak and Adela Papiez, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; Morgan Aho and Madison Bajis, Utica; Megan McClellan and Amanda Palmer, Sterling Heights Stevenson; and Caitlyn Harwood, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore.

L’Anse Creuse North and Romeo each went 7-1-4 to share the division title. Fraser was next at 5-3-4, followed by Chippewa Valley (5-5-2), Utica (4-5-3), Stevenson (2-7-3) and Lake Shore (0-8-4).

MAC Blue
St. Clair High’s Elia Tracy earned the league MVP award. Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse’s Scott Perez was named Coach of the Year, while Port Huron Northern received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honors went to Jessica Wilson, Sydney Rizo, Abby Cimini, Carmela Contesti and Harper Purvin, L’Anse Creuse; Tracy, Julie Rohde, Kara Donaldson and Mya Freeland, St. Clair; Kaylee Marcero, Aubree Johnston, Haley Relken and Sarah Wight, Port Huron Northern; Alex Goss, Ceceilya Mernatti and Lauren Delmonte, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; Natalie Bicego and Avery Maslowski, Warren Cousino; Lauren Mexico, Madison Heights Lamphere; and Genna Gaitan and Nicole Wrobel, Warren Mott.

L’Anse Creuse finished at 11-0-1 to win the division. St. Clair (7-1-4) finished second, followed by Port Huron Northern (5-3-4), Lakeview (4-7-1), Cousino (3-5-4), Mott (3-9-0) and Lamphere (1-9-2).

MAC Gold
Clawson High swept the individual awards, as Adyson McCullough and Dan Wickham won MVP and Coach of the Year, respectively. Port Huron High received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were McCullough, Raquelle Robbins, Macy Williams, Abbey Lodato and Emma Watson, Clawson; Julia Haas, Hallie Hatcher, Adelaide Spencer and Emily Schoening, Marine City High; Emma Babb, Breanna Booth, Alisyn Hall and Emma Racker, Marysville High; Ciera Bolden, Hayley Cicola and Mackenzie Nitz, Warren Woods Tower; Joslyn Williams and Emmaline O’Neil, Port Huron; Miranda Vanarman and Ava Dueler, Sterling Heights High; and Lauren Orler, Roseville High.

Clawson went 12-0-0 to earn the title. Marine City was next at 8-2-2, followed by Marysville at 6-4-2, Tower (5-5-2), Port Huron (4-5-3), Sterling Heights (1-10-1) and Roseville (0-10-2).

MAC Silver
Center Line High’s Christina Labudie earned league MVP honors. New Haven High’s Derek Wagner took home Coach of the Year. St. Clair Shores South Lake and Warren Fitzgerald shared the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Labudie, Danielle Ellis, Savanna Roark and Syeda Jamal, Center Line; Liliana Romero, Evion David, Rhee Ganley, Isabella Wasielewski and Hannah Ostenholer, New Haven; Lily Crachiola, Mary Dupuis and Marcayla Armstrong, South Lake; Ashley Barker, Randi Fitzgerald and Ahtziry Gutierrez, Fitzgerald; Ria Salter and Chee Xiong, Eastpointe High; and Michelle De Los Santos, Madison Heights Madison.

New Haven went 8-1-1 to win the division. Center Line finished second with a 7-1-2 mark. South Lake was next at 6-1-3, followed by Fitzgerald (4-6-0), Eastpointe (2-8-0) and Madison (0-10-0).