Attention Readers
In response to the coronavirus pandemic, C & G Newspapers has temporarily suspended its print publications. We look forward to resuming our print operation in the coming weeks. In the meantime, continue to find local news on our website and look for us on Facebook and Twitter. We hope you stay healthy and safe.

Hockey players earn All-State honors

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published April 7, 2016

METRO DETROIT — The Michigan High School Hockey Coaches Association has announced its 2016 All-State teams, and several local players made the cut.

Following is a listing of players from our coverage area who received All-State honors in Division 1 and Division 2.


Division 1
First team: Grant Reszczyk, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s; Matt Hawke, Michael Rittner and Trevor Szafran, Rochester United; and Ethan Tobiczyk, Utica Eisenhower.

Second team: Drew Casey, Lake Orion High; Austin Stauffer and Joey Verkerke, St. Mary’s; Ethan Fuller, Rochester; and Luke Mackin, Warren Mott.

Honorable mention: Cameron Mercer and Jacob Smith, Troy United; Ethan Bobowski, Macomb Dakota; Brendan Rybicki, Eisenhower; and AJ Oja and Kevin Lalik, Mott.


Division 2
First team: Nick Bowman, Jaret Koger and Daniel Sendek, Birmingham Brother Rice; Zach Leonard, Berkley High; and Adam Pitters and Adam Cervone, Grosse Pointe South.

Second team: Henry Gabriel, Royal Oak High; Ian Melrose, Berkley; Marshal Vyletel, Grosse Pointe South; and Jake VanDenBerg, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North.

Honorable mention: Wade Herbert and Brendan Murphy, Royal Oak; Mitch Shults and Jack Clement, Brother Rice; Jack Flynn, Grosse Pointe South; Ian Smith and Cam Stevenson, Walled Lake Central; James Burtka and Brock Johnson, Rochester Hills Stoney Creek; Bradley Koziara, L’Anse Creuse North; and Michael Schwanke, Berkley.