OAA names top volleyball players

By: Zachary Manning | C&G Newspapers | Published December 5, 2019

 West Bloomfield High’s Lauren King prepares to serve the ball during a game earlier this year. King earned All-Association honors.

West Bloomfield High’s Lauren King prepares to serve the ball during a game earlier this year. King earned All-Association honors.

Photo by Patricia O’Blenes

OAKLAND COUNTY — With the final spikes, sets and serves completed, the Oakland Activities Association has named its top volleyball players from this past season.

Following is a list of the honorees from within each division.


Clarkston High won the Red Division, going a perfect 7-0. Thanks to Clarkston’s dominance in the league, Wolves coach Kelly Pinner was named Coach of the Year.

All-Association honors went to Lara Sebastian and Amber Morris, Rochester Adams; Sydney Hasenfratz, Summer Jidas, Jordan Newblatt and Claire Nowicki, Clarkston; Ellie Ruprich, Birmingham Groves; Ainsley Guse, Kate Stration and Sydney Tomlak, Rochester Hills Stoney Creek; Grace Allread and Lauren King, West Bloomfield High; and Sydney Richter, Oxford High. Names were not provided for Lake Orion High or Troy High.

Players listed as honorable mentions included Becca Apsey, Danielle Veasley and Jenna Ringler, Groves; Ashley Gajdzik and Ella Markevics, Stoney Creek; and Juliana Davis and Delaney Lambert, West Bloomfield.


OAA White
Bloomfield Hills High took home the league title, finishing 7-0. Black Hawks coach Larry Wyatt earned Coach of the Year honors.

All-Association honorees were Alexa Withun and Margaret Cubitt, Troy Athens; Lena Vaslayk, Auburn Hills Avondale; Sophia Dawkins, Berkley High; Alexa Rousseau, Noelle Siwek, Ava Petrucci and Ashlea Nwabueze, Bloomfield Hills; Alyssa Murphy, North Farmington; Audrey Brown, Maddy Ligon and Anna McLeod, Birmingham Seaholm; and Carly Rodman and Pegi Laci, Rochester High. Names were not provided for Farmington High.

Honorable mention honorees were Ava Topacio and Erica Bouford, Athens; Lauren James, Beth Lill and Charlotte Warner, North Farmington; and Jesi Abolins, Sidney Swart and Helena Rowland, Rochester.


OAA Blue
Royal Oak High ran through the Blue Division with a 4-0 record. Ravens coach Ciara Schultz collected the Coach of the Year award.

All-Association honorees were Emily Foster and Zoe Verkeyn, Ferndale High; Morgan Atlas and Takayla Pennix, Oak Park High; and Zoe Kreczmer, Emma Brewster, Delila Miller and Jacie Walden, Royal Oak. Names were not provided for Southfield A&T or Pontiac High.

Players named honorable mentions were Kyra Newman, Kaiya Scott and Morgan Shaltis, Ferndale; and Skylar Veit, Royal Oak.