OAA boys basketball names honor teams

By: Christian Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published April 7, 2016

 West Bloomfield’s Trishton Jackson, right, earned OAA All-Association honors in helping the Lakers to a division title.

West Bloomfield’s Trishton Jackson, right, earned OAA All-Association honors in helping the Lakers to a division title.

Photo by Erin Sanchez


OAKLAND COUNTY — The boys basketball season has concluded, and now is the time for local players to get their just rewards.

Here’s a look at the final standings from the Oakland Activities Association and the players who earned All-Association honors. 

Red Division
After splitting their regular-season meetings, Clarkston High and North Farmington High also split the division championship, each finishing 9-1.

Rochester Adams (5-5) and Southfield High (5-5) tied for third, and Troy Athens (1-9) and Lathrup Village Southfield-Lathrup (1-9) split fifth. 

All-Association honorees are Amauri Hardy, Jacob Joubert, Alex Darden and Billy Thomas, North Farmington; Foster Loyer, Dylan Alderson and C.J. Robinson, Clarkston; Spencer Littleson and Joey Ziniti, Adams; Michael Flowers, Southfield; Taylor McCaskill, Athens; and Corey Whitted, Lathrup.

North Farmington’s Todd Negoshian is the OAA Red’s Coach of the Year.  

White Division
It was a logjam at the top with West Bloomfield High, Bloomfield Hills High and Pontiac High all claiming a share of the championship, each finishing 7-3.

Troy High (4-6) took fourth, Oak Park High (3-7) was fifth and Auburn Hills Avondale (2-8) was sixth. 

All-Association honors go to Trishton Jackson, Kevin McAdoo and Davion Johnson, West Bloomfield; Kiewuan Graham, Josh Jones and Jake Hecker, Bloomfield Hills; Jalen Kelso, David Wilson and Israel Williams, Pontiac; Jason Dietz, Troy; Robert Zanders, Oak Park; and Jalen Latham, Avondale. 

Bloomfield Hills’ Mike Maryanski, West Bloomfield’s Jeremy Denha and Pontiac’s Ben Kelso share Coach of the Year honors. 

Blue Division
Rochester Hills Stoney Creek was head and shoulders above the pack, finishing 10-0.

Lake Orion High and Rochester High tied for second, each finishing 6-4.

Oxford High (4-6) and Farmington High (4-6) tied for fourth, and Birmingham Seaholm (0-10) took sixth. 

All-Association honorees are Ben Reiter, Jon Paul Sinacola and Spencer Holloman, Stoney Creek; David Gomez and Noah Harrison, Lake Orion; Hunter Schattler and Ivan Barazza, Rochester; Jordan Jadan, Oxford; Alex Manasa, Farmington; and Graham Girdler Jr., Seaholm. 

Stoney Creek’s Steve Norgrove is the Coach of the Year.

Gold Division
Hazel Park High finished 9-1 to earn the division championship.

Birmingham Groves (7-3) gave chase finishing second, while Royal Oak High (6-4) took third, Farmington Hills Harrison (5-5) was fourth, Berkley High (2-8) placed fifth and Ferndale High (1-9) took sixth.

All-Association honors go to David Hearns, Carl Bow Jr. and James Jenkins, Hazel Park; Drew Sheckell and Langston Rudds, Groves; Cordell Dupree and Gavin Boswell, Royal Oak; Trevon Dixon, Harrison; Jerome Cobb, Berkley; and Jalen Lee, Ferndale.

Hazel Park’s Brandon Barrett is the Coach of the Year.