West Bloomfield High’s Jack Budde takes a swing at a practice this past season. Budde was one of three Lakers named to the All-Association team.

West Bloomfield High’s Jack Budde takes a swing at a practice this past season. Budde was one of three Lakers named to the All-Association team.

Photo by Patricia O’Blenes

OAA announces baseball honor teams

By: Edward Zilincik | C&G Newspapers | Published June 22, 2018


OAKLAND COUNTY — Spring sports around Michigan are all but over as summer arrives. During a long baseball season, a number of players and teams persevered through the elements and excelled on the field. 

Now that the season has officially ended, coaches got their chance to acknowledge the best of the best in each league.

Here are the final standings in each division of the Oakland Activities Association, along with each player who took home an All-Association award.


Red Division
Lake Orion High repeated as Red Division champions this season while tying with Rochester Hills Stoney Creek for a share of the title (13-2). Rochester High finished third at 8-7, Clarkston High was fourth at 6-9, and Oxford High and Rochester Adams rounded out the division at 3-12 and 2-13, respectively. 

All-Association honors were given to Doug Propson, Andrew Carson, Trevor Hunsanger, Bob DiPanni and Ben Dargel, Stoney Creek; Ryan Rifenberg, Adams; Ryan Barber and Seth Bacon, Clarkston; Jim Scibor, Andre Orselli, Casey Stironek, Andrew Nepjuk and Drew Van Heck, Lake Orion; Noah Stout, Owen Malinowski and Nick Stepke, Rochester; and Ben Nuss, Oxford.


White Division 
Farmington High claimed its first division title since 2016 with a record of 9-3. Birmingham Groves, hoping to repeat as champions, fell just short at 8-4. West Bloomfield High finished third at 7-5, while Birmingham Seaholm and North Farmington followed at 3-9 each. 

All-Association awards were received by Deven Mahanti, Steve Flowers, Brandon Strickland, Dylan Finn and Damon Manasa, Farmington; Victor Menocotti and Blake Maddalena, North Farmington; George Cutler, Chaise Ford, Nick Ringler and Matt Bachand, Groves; Zach Ziegler and Max Schumaker, Seaholm; and Trenton Newby, Nick Seidel and Jack Budde, West Bloomfield. 


Blue Division 
Following a 6-6 season last year, Troy High claimed the Blue Division title this time around. The Colts finished at 9-3, with Auburn Hills Avondale giving chase at 8-4. Berkley High (5-7), Bloomfield Hills High (4-8) and Troy Athens (4-8) rounded out the division.

All-Association honors went to Clark Joslin and Sean McConnell, Athens; William Fahoome, Conner Gubarius, Ethan Jewell and Brendan Down, Avondale; David Austin, Tae Whinham and Kyle Domzalski, Berkley; Dugan Fife and Alex McCormack, Bloomfield Hills; and Robert Banas, Aaron Sexton, Alex Corbeil, Dan Schroeder and Stephen McAvoy, Troy. 


Gold Division
Subsequent to winning its first Gold Division title in 2017, Southfield A&T equaled the feat with an 11-1 record. Royal Oak High came in second for the second consecutive year, this time at 10-2. Ferndale High (6-6), Hazel Park High (3-9) and Oak Park High (0-12) comprised the rest of the group. 

All-Association honors were collected by Nico Furnari, Drake Landry and Craig Wilson, Ferndale; Zack Sawtell and Matt Bylski, Hazel Park; Jake Isaacson, Matt Isaacson, Sean Marshall and Bryce Dunscombe, Royal Oak; and Khalil Smith, Duane Henderson, John Darby, Tony Lyons and Garrin Blake, Southfield A&T.