Macomb Area Conference names top volleyball players, coaches

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published December 1, 2016


Another season has come and gone for the 36 volleyball teams in the Macomb Area Conference.

St. Clair Shores South Lake was the last MAC team standing, as the Cavaliers advanced all the way to the Class B state quarterfinals before falling to North Branch High 3-0.

The run to the quarters was the deepest in South Lake history.

The MAC has once again named MVPs, Coaches of the Year and Sportsmanship Award winners, in addition to All-League teams. Here’s a look at the honorees and final standings.

Utica Eisenhower went 9-1 to win the division. Macomb Dakota was next at 7-3, followed by Anchor Bay High (5-5), Romeo High (4-6), Grosse Pointe North (3-7) and Marysville High (2-8).

Eisenhower’s Payton Kennelly was named league MVP and her coach, Caitlin LaPratt, earned Coach of the Year honors. Romeo received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Kennelly, Kathryn Ciraulo, Hailey Barden, Sam Palazollo, Sarah Wojcik and Marissa Durand, Eisenhower; Mackenzie Kepler, Jessica Lodge, Anastasia Savich, Emily Jansen, Mallory Grager and Lacey Juengel, Dakota; Maria Mallon, Kaela Stoll, Abby Evans and Khloe Stoll, Anchor Bay; Jodie Kelly, Payton Klein and Kamryn Duffield, Romeo; Katie Snow and Meredith Kraus, Grosse Pointe North; and Hannah Delor and Hayley Delor, Marysville.

MAC White
Sterling Heights Stevenson finished 10-0 to win the league. Grosse Pointe South took second place at 8-2, followed by Macomb L’Anse Creuse North (5-5), Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse (4-6), Port Huron Northern (3-7) and Clinton Township Chippewa Valley (0-10).

Stevenson’s Shannon Carr and Paul Drdul took home league MVP and Coach of the Year honors, respectively. Port Huron Northern received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Carr, Corinne Herrmann, Sarah Dickey, Alexis Kopicki, Vanessa Husar and Abbey Herrmann, Stevenson; Kate Satterfield, Lexi Kohut, Lauren Toenjes, Chandlar Duff, Cindy Hogan and Charlotte Brecht, Grosse Pointe South; Tori Conklin, Delaney Nichols, Marissa Tatti and Liv Noble, L’Anse Creuse North; Sam Hoeldtke, L’Anse Creuse; Brooke Bowerman, Port Huron Northern; and Asia Kue, Chippewa Valley.

MAC Blue
Utica Ford II went 10-0 to win the title. Fraser High (8-2) finished second. Utica High was next at 5-5, followed by St. Clair Shores Lake Shore (4-6), Port Huron High (3-7) and Sterling Heights High (0-10).

Ford’s Julia Malewicz was the league MVP and Brianna Baker, also of Ford, earned Coach of the Year honors. Fraser received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Malewicz, Amanda Pollock and Maureen Cronin, Ford; Amanda VanJaarsveld, Shelby Budnick and Ivy Boggia, Fraser; Danielle Kaschalk, Mone Knowles, Samantha Gailey and Clare Feeman, Utica; Taylor Dietz, Lake Shore; Kelsie Chapman and Haley Murdick, Port Huron; and Tatyana Hardwick and Samantha Hoff, Sterling Heights.

MAC Gold
Marine City High took the title at 9-1. St. Clair Shores Lakeview was next at 7-3, followed by Warren Cousino (6-4), Warren Woods Tower (4-6), Warren Mott (2-8) and St. Clair High (2-8).

Marine City’s Desaray DeSnyder earned league MVP honors while her coach, Kelly Thomas, was named Coach of the Year. St. Clair received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were DeSnyder, Paige Tranchida, Karyssa Austin, Stephanie Abraham, Brooke Volkman and Hannah Walendows, Marine City; Grace Allor, Isabella Fresch, Rebecca Case, Samantha Kemp, Kristine Fresard and Brooklyn Misko, Lakeview; Jessica Tocco, Kelcey Heaney, Aubrey Fetzer, Caitlyn Lee and Kristyana Barnhill, Cousino; Sam Blalock, Madison Mielnicki and Nicole Gacki, Tower; Mariah Taylor, Mott; and Jessica Bohm, Brenna Johnson, Hope Meyers and Jackie Jensen, St. Clair.

MAC Silver
Madison Heights Lamphere and Roseville High each finished 9-1 to share the league title. Center Line High and Clawson High were next, with each finishing 5-5, followed by Eastpointe East Detroit and St. Clair Shores South Lake both at 1-9.

Lamphere’s Sydney Hensley earned league MVP honors. Lamphere’s Patty Waidknecht and Roseville’s Nick Juncaj shared the Coach of the Year award. South Lake received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Hensley, Sarah Barrett, Brenna Murphy, Alexis Wark and Destiny Carr, Lamphere; Autumn Anderson, Kaitlyn Hall, Alex Terry-Martin, Jo’el Stump and Natalie Terry-Martin, Roseville; Abby Girardot, Jewel Smith, Brooke Junaud, Cassidy Skwier and Brooklyn Harris, Center Line; Jacqueline Hauser, Morgan Danhausen, Taylor Shaw, Layla Clingman and Alexandria Verner, Clawson; Cheyanna Mitchell and Mashala Grimes, East Detroit; and Hanna Hernandez and Kaylee McClellan, South Lake.

MAC Bronze
Clinton Township Clintondale and New Haven High both went 7-1 to share the division title. Madison Heights Madison and Warren Fitzgerald each went 3-5, and Warren Lincoln finished 0-8 to round out the division.

Clintondale’s Princess Johnson and Courtney Dyer won MVP and Coach of the Year, respectively. Lincoln received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Johnson, Sabrina Casteel and LaMya Jones, Clintondale; Hanna Ales, Kira Baade and Raychael Banks, New Haven; Marshayla Gonzales and Kala Marshall, Madison; Kayla Crumley and Serina Daugherty, Fitzgerald; and Madison MacKinnon, Lincoln.

Check back next week for the All-MAC football teams.