Attention Readers: We're Back
C&G Newspapers is pleased to have resumed publication. For the time being, our papers will publish on a biweekly basis as we work toward our return to weekly papers. In between issues, and anytime, continue to find local news on our website and look for us on Facebook and Twitter.

Macomb Area Conference honors top football players

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published December 13, 2018

 Clinton Township Clintondale senior lineman Josh Warlick runs a drill in an early-season practice. Warlick has earned All-League honors in the Macomb Area Conference Silver  Division.

Clinton Township Clintondale senior lineman Josh Warlick runs a drill in an early-season practice. Warlick has earned All-League honors in the Macomb Area Conference Silver Division.

Photo by Erin Sanchez


MACOMB COUNTY — Another fall has come and gone for the 35 football teams in the Macomb Area Conference, and the league had a solid season.

Clinton Township Chippewa Valley won the Division 1 state title, and Madison Heights Madison advanced to the D-7 final before falling in a thriller.

MAC coaches once again convened to name All-League players for each of the six divisions. MVP and Coach of the Year honors were handed out along with a Sportsmanship Award.

Following is a listing of all of the All-MAC honorees, broken down by division.

Clinton Township Chippewa Valley’s Tommy Schuster earned league MVP honors, while Big Reds coach Scott Merchant was named Coach of the Year. Utica Eisenhower received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Schuster, and seniors Marcel Lewis, David Ellis, Ja’von Kimpson, Andre Chenault, Martice Bunting and Courtney McGarity, Chippewa Valley; seniors Mark Tocco, Jeremiah Major, Dustin Solomon, Brandon Michalak and Ross Lewalski, Macomb Dakota; seniors Ian Kennedy, Caleb Oyster, Jai-Javonte Reid, Justin Trpceski and Massimo D’Aristotile, Eisenhower; seniors Brock Horne, Eric Fraeyman, Mitch Hardy, Ryan Heimbuch and Cole Karwowicz, Romeo High; seniors Justin McCown and Brandon Szymanski, Sterling Heights Stevenson; and senior Michael Harper, New Baltimore Anchor Bay.

Chippewa Valley went 5-0 to claim the MAC Red crown. Dakota, Eisenhower and Romeo all finished at 3-2, followed by Stevenson (1-4) and Anchor Bay (0-5).

MAC White
Grosse Pointe South senior Miles Dearing earned league MVP honors, while South coach Tim Brandon was named Coach of the Year. Warren Mott received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Dearing, and seniors Ryan Downey, Terrance Lane, Conor McKenna, Scott Rasati, Tanner Belanger and James Rauh, South; seniors Trevor Madison, John Lulaj, Darius Willis, James Murray and Jake Dube, and junior Curtis Hamilton, Mott; seniors Austin Krul and Brendan Thayer, and juniors Justin Szumanski and Logan Simmons, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; seniors Hunter Osantowske, Luke Chapp and Graham Mason, and junior Taveon Thompson, Utica Ford II; seniors Joseph Salisbury and Ka’Ronn Henderson, Grosse Pointe North; and senior Christian Gegovic, Utica High.

South finished 5-0 to win the division. Mott was next at 4-1. LCN and Ford both went 2-3, followed by North and Utica (both 1-4).

MAC Blue
Port Huron Northern junior Theo Ellis was named league MVP, with his coach, Larry Roelens, earning Coach of the Year honors. Warren Cousino received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Ellis, juniors Trenten Angelbrandt, Justin Harrison, Seth Klink and Braiden McGregor, and senior Maurice Powell, Port Huron Northern; seniors Kyle Taylor, Darrien Smith, DeShaun Wright and DeAndro Watts, and juniors Daivon Lowman and Terrance Weathers, Roseville High; seniors Damond Duncan, Ivan Krohta, Evan Rochon, Delorean Ishmon and Harold Irby, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; seniors Jon Oriel and Ryan Gilbert, and junior Malik Davis, Port Huron High; senior Brendan Wolgast and sophomore DeMario Young, Cousino; and senior Anthony Cooper, Fraser High.  

Northern went 5-0 to win the MAC Blue. Roseville finished second at 4-1, followed by Lakeview (3-2), Port Huron (2-3), Cousino (1-4) and Fraser (0-5).

MAC Gold
Warren Woods Tower senior Matt Bills earned league MVP honors. His coach, Al Gulick, was named Coach of the Year. Sterling Heights High received the Sportsmanship Award.    

All-League honorees were Bills, seniors CJ Shier, Joel Radvansky, Nick Johnson, Angelo Glass and Zachary Burke, and junior Henry Brown, Tower; seniors Mike Gaiera, Christian Gaiera, Ja’Sean Green and Robert Turner-Yelder, and juniors Brett Marks and Kristian Dushaj, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore; seniors Dezmond Ambrose and Emanuel Robins, and juniors Davion Watkins, Sean-Derrick Andrews and Qujohan Pippins, Eastpointe High; seniors Colton Haberek, Treavor Gibbs and Quanelle Pritchett, Warren Fitzgerald; seniors Tim Cleglorn and Brian Overall, Sterling Heights; and senior Sam Kunnuji, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse.

Tower finished at 5-0 to secure the division championship. Lake Shore was next at 4-2, followed by Eastpointe (3-2), Fitzgerald (2-3), Sterling Heights (1-4) and L’Anse Creuse (0-5).

MAC Silver
Madison Heights Madison senior Austin Brown was named league MVP. Eagles coach James Rogers earned Coach of the Year honors. Marysville High received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Brown, seniors Khyron Parker Franklin and Chauncey Ernest, and juniors Adam Long, Cam Corso, Antonio Hailey and Makai Johnson, Madison; seniors Ethan Mahn and Parker Griffor, and juniors Austin Schweiger, Lance Schweihofer, Brady Gleason and River Palumba, St. Clair High; senior Jack Kretzschmar, juniors Aren Sopfe, Josh Headlee and Angelo Patsalis, and sophomore Mason Walker, Marine City High; senior Michael Bell and junior Parker Foster, Marysville; seniors Jerimyah Vines, Josh Bogan and Tyler Waters, St. Clair Shores South Lake; and senior Josh Warlick, Clinton Township Clintondale.

Madison finished at 5-0 to win the MAC Silver. St. Clair was next at 4-1, followed by Marine City (3-2), South Lake (2-3), Marysville (1-4) and Clintondale (0-5).

MAC Bronze
Center Line High senior Nicholas Hastings earned league MVP honors, while Panthers coach Ben Torres was named Coach of the Year. Clawson High received the Sportsmanship Award.

All-League honorees were Hastings, seniors Davon Sears, George Talley III, Jermond Horshow, Logan Bushor, D’Iante Taylor and Jakarris Vereen, and junior Jaylan Johnson, Center Line; seniors Bryce Blaesing, TJ Verner, Jacob Butler and Jackson Freudo, and juniors Nick O’deh and Tristen Perry, Clawson; seniors Jaren Johnson, Ivan Thomas and Donovan Yuchuz, and juniors Terry Beeler and Ceontae Harris, Warren Lincoln; seniors ToRohm Yancey, Jaylen Moore and Alex Szewczul, Madison Heights Lamphere; and seniors Jasaan Gantt and Darrion Betts, New Haven High.

Center Line went 4-0 to claim the MAC Bronze title. Clawson was next at 3-1, followed by Lincoln (2-2), Lamphere (1-3) and New Haven (0-4).