MAC’s best football players honored

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published December 4, 2012


The season is over for all the high school football teams across the state, including the 36 teams in the Macomb Area Conference.

The MAC has named its top players, recognizing players from each of the league’s six divisions in the form of All-Conference honors.

All-MAC teams have been released for each division, along with Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year honors.

Here’s a division-by-division breakdown of each team.

Macomb Dakota senior Christan Gore won league MVP honors, while his coach, Mike Giannone, earned the Coach of the Year award.

All-Conference honorees include Gore, Clay Prickett, Nick Cattaneo, Richmon Render, Connor Wonsowicz, Niko Savich and Corey Chase, Dakota; David Curle, Joe Zerafa, Garrett Bush, Andrew Suparich, Idode Keiubo and Ethan Hines, Utica Eisenhower; Trevon Bauch, Sultan Faronbi, Dustin Carlin, Ryan Hines and Tyler Sykes, Stevenson; Austin Doan, Mike Archutowski and Joe Gardner, Romeo; Dominic D’Andrea, Utica Ford II; Jerry Taylor and Keyonn Whitfield, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley.

Dakota won the Red with a 5-0 record in league play. Ike and Stevenson finished with 3-2 marks, followed by Chippewa Valley (2-3), Romeo (2-3) and Ford II (0-5).

MAC White
Port Huron High senior Mark Chapman and Ryan Mullens won league MVP and Coach of the Year, respectively, in the White.

All-Conference honorees are Chapman, Carl Portis, Jalan McCoy, Anthony Edwards, Randy Trice, Guy DeCicio and Jalen Esters, Port Huron; Jack Sliel, Haris Vrabac, Marcel Jackson-Byed, Deshawn Burley, LaVonte Purdue and Angelo Proulx, Warren Mott; Jacob Roberts, Nivontae Hall, Evan Ericson and Mitch Vonzitturitz, Utica High; Theo Valesquez, Alex Hamilton and Gary Landlegg, Anchor Bay; Anthony Jazvac, Lawrence Austin and Michael Greer, Warren Cousino; and Ray Williams, Roseville.

Port Huron went undefeated (5-0) in winning the White. Mott (4-1) finished second, followed by Utica (2-3), Cousino (2-3), Anchor Bay (2-3) and Roseville (0-5).

MAC Blue
Grosse Pointe South senior Jack Doyle has been named league MVP, while Blue Devils coach Tim Brandon won Coach of the Year honors.

All-Conference honorees are Doyle, Neil Fleming, Branden Cooper, Zach VanElslander, Max Roeske, Renell Perkins and Jordan Spratt, South; David Bercel-Dicker, Danny Callahan, Tyler Conklin, Sean Koski, Chris Truba and Michael Stenzel, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; Taiwan Wiggins, Sean McHale, Jack Guest, Steve Elliott and Devin Palmer, Grosse Pointe North; Bill Bowmer, Lucas Lanzon and Joe Lech, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse; Tyler Hughes and Bryce VanHorn, Port Huron Northern; and Marcus Bowers, Fraser.

South won the Blue with a 5-0 record. LCN (4-1) finished second, followed by Grosse Pointe North (3-2), L’Anse Creuse (2-3), Port Huron Northern (1-4) and Fraser (0-5).

MAC Gold
Marine City took all the honors in the Gold, with senior DJ Burns winning league MVP and Ron Glodich being named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference honorees are Burns, AJ Rodriguez, Pete Patsalis, Andrew Nickel, Jared Headlee, Zach Reuter and Kevin Fitzsimmone, Marine City; Blake Brewer, Bo Meldrum, Colton Pfaendtner, Ben Miller and Brandon Boyte, St. Clair High; Josh Smith, Ryan Leto, Kyle Hyde, Matt Darden and Jared Gross, Marysville; Alec Johnson, Mike Adour and Kevin Kwiek, Sterling Heights High; Nick White and Gary Tilney, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; and Jimmy White, St. Clair Shores Lake Shore.

Marine City (5-0) won the Blue. St. Clair finished second at 4-1, followed by Marysville (3-2), Sterling Heights High (2-3), Lakeview (1-4) and Lake Shore (0-5).

MAC Silver
Madison Heights Madison senior Nick Wallace has been named league MVP, while Madison coach Drake Wilkens took home Coach of the Year honors.

All-Conference honorees are Wallace, Antonio George, Anthony Free, Kyle Baldwin, Sam Esho, Deviyon Jones and Lewis Brown, Madison; Delshawn Dukes, Travon DeSaussure, Ghay’len Hammons, Jalen Dingle and Deshun Brown, St. Clair Shores South Lake; Michael Tratar, Brad Denmark, Brandon Ruble, Dan Gettel, Bobby Parke and Jake Myszenski, Madison Heights Lamphere; Gary Smith, Chuckie Voorhees and Lamar Thomas, Warren Woods Tower; Tyler Norton and Aron Kimball, Warren Fitzgerald; and Tyrell Yharbrough, East Detroit.

Madison won the Silver with a 4-1 record. South Lake and Lamphere finished 3-2 in league play, followed by Tower (2-3), Fitzgerald (2-3) and East Detroit (1-4).

MAC Bronze
Clinton Township Clintondale junior Malik Hazzard won league MVP honors, while Clintondale coach Dave Schindler was named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference honorees are Hazzard, Marquis Chavez, James Dhue, Lonnell Davis, Dontae’ Owens, Jacob Smith and Trey Barksdale, Clintondale; Jared Martin, Marlou Harris, Matt Suter, Marquian Johnson, Steven Klein and Ty Sparks, Clawson; Brandon Mitchell, Mike Reese, Dayshawn Hampton, and Janell Podras, Warren Lincoln; John Green, Vantrell Williams and Brett Maylaert, New Haven; Kalvan Williamson, Marlon Henry and Marquell Sanders, Mount Clemens; and Terrell Adams, Center Line.

At 5-0, Clintondale won the Bronze. Clawson finished second with a 4-1 record, followed by Lincoln (2-3), New Haven (2-3), Mount Clemens (2-3) and Center Line (0-5).