Attention Readers
In response to the coronavirus pandemic, C & G Newspapers has temporarily suspended its print publications. We look forward to resuming our print operation in the coming weeks. In the meantime, continue to find local news on our website and look for us on Facebook and Twitter. We hope you stay healthy and safe.

Clawson boys, girls hoopsters among league’s elite

Royal Oak Review | Published March 28, 2012


The end of the winter sports season brings the announcement of the honor squads from the 36-team Macomb Area Conference. Among them, Clawson High’s boys and girls basketball teams were well represented in the MAC Silver Division — the league both programs compete in.

All-Conference teams have been chosen, along with league Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year in each division. Below are the MAC Silver results. For complete lists and more photos, see our website at www.candg


Clawson won its second straight division title, going 13-1. Lakeview (10-4), Marysville (9-5), Clintondale (8-6), Lamphere (5-9), Lake Shore (5-9), Marine City (4-10) and Center Line (2-12) round out the division.

Lakeview junior Robert Shields won the league MVP award, while Clawson coach Billy Shellenbarger was named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference selections include Shields and senior Gary Tilney, Lakeview; seniors DeShawn Gilbert, Tywaun Watkins and junior Marquian Johnson, Clawson; junior Matt Russell and senior Sean Farnsworth, Marysville; senior Kyle Styles and junior Tyrone Moore, Clintondale; junior Sam Honaker, Marine City; senior Jay Junkin, Lamphere; and senior Chris Bolus, Lake Shore.


At 14-0, Marysville won the league by four full games. South Lake came in second at 10-4. Lamphere and Clawson at 9-5 finished tied for third. New Haven (7-7), Clintondale (5-9), East Detroit (2-12) and Madison (0-14) made up the rest of the division.

The Most Valuable Player Award went to Marysville sophomore Madison Valko, while Coach of the Year was awarded to Clawson’s Kelly Horne.

All-Conference selections are Valko, senior Andrea Curtiss, senior Jessica Fowler and junior Shelby Zeiser, Marysville; junior Destiny Rasche and sophomore DeAsia Clark, New Haven; seniors Alli Costine and Ryann May, Clawson; juniors Taylor Kelly and Erika Berger, Lamphere; senior Alyssa Bennetts; Madison; and junior Rolanda Petty, Clintondale.