Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Anthony Anton carries the ball during a game earlier this year. Anton has earned All-Catholic honors.

Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Anthony Anton carries the ball during a game earlier this year. Anton has earned All-Catholic honors.

Photo by Patricia O’Blenes

Catholic League tabs top football players

By: Jacob Herbert | C&G Newspapers | Published December 13, 2019

METRO DETROIT — The Catholic High School League recently released its awards honoring the best football players in the league.

The Catholic League saw some success in this year’s postseason. Of the 18 teams across four divisions, 11 teams played in the postseason.

Orchard Lake St. Mary’s, Detroit Loyola, Detroit U-D Jesuit and Royal Oak Shrine all reached regional finals in their respective divisions. Riverview Gabriel Richard got as far as a district final.

Following is a look at the players selected for All-Catholic and All-League, along with the Coach of the Year selections.


Matthew Andoni, Luke Newman, Jimmy Phillips, Greg Piscopink and Jonathan Tillman, Birmingham Brother Rice; Anthony Anton, Kameron Arnold, Garnett Davis, Tommy Doman, Elijah Harrison and Grant Henson, St. Mary’s; Nick Ballas, Jonas Raiha and Jackson Stanley, Allen Park Cabrini; Angelo Basilisco, Tyler Davey, Matthew Drdul, Gary Glaser and Jacob Kukuk, Macomb Lutheran North; Walt Baughman, Miles Hickman, Carson Hinton, Nick Johnson, Dorian Mausi and Nick Kouza, U-D Jesuit; Conor Benson, Anthony Massucci, Marty Massucci, Charlie Niehaus and Jacob Sanders, Shrine; Jack Birks, Zach Carey, Coby Daraban, Steven Kolcheff, Easton St. Clair, Brendin Yatooma and Jacob Young, Novi Detroit Catholic Central; Kyle Cartier, Jack Loeffler and Ben Newby, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes; Klayton Cornell, Braden Mussat and Zach Proctor, Madison Heights Bishop Foley; Dominic Cross, Jack Lasceski, Giovanni Mastromatteo, Michael McGrath and John Suran, Clarkston Everest Collegiate; Larry DeDalis and Richard Marshall, Marine City Cardinal Mooney; Jack Fairman, Tariq Muhammad and Chase Paulus, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood; Derrick Harmon, Marquise Henderson and Antwaun Powell, Loyola; Quinn Hess, Michael Holdsclaw, Matt Maki, Alex Mastrogiacomo, Nathan Palumbo and Carson Sollars, Riverview Gabriel Richard; Ryan Jones, Ian Narva, Joseph Randazzo and Drew Zelenak, Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett; Thomas Kalchik, Colin Kelly, Gregory Robinson and Dawson Stec, Dearborn Divine Child; Gregory Kendzicky and Brandon Victor, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; and Derrelle Murray, Brett Stanley, Michael Young Jr. and Adam Zepp, Warren De La Salle.


Braden Babich, William Beesley, Tyler Gerling, Ricky Pearson and Anthony Stepnitz, De La Salle; Owen Berber, Mark Fabili, Carter Penn, Justin Slaski and Alex Vandermeer, Lutheran North; Luke Bishop, Dylan Gough, Nick Harnadek, Griffin Connert and Adam Kidder, Bishop Foley; Adarius Black, Hayden Caddell and Malik Marable, Loyola; Blake Brown, Garrison Brown, Kevin Everhart, Paul Nasr and Ethan Rogus, Cardinal Mooney; Nate Brown, Drew Kremhelmer, Chris McCarus, Ty Williams, Joe Wisniewski and Devon Wright, U-D Jesuit; Nicholas Cardella, William Gregory, Jack Jones and Dakota Jones, University Liggett; Joel Corvaia, Damien King and Ryan Kugelman, Cabrini; Trey Cosnowski, Anthony Enechukwu, Danny Mason, Nick Santoni, Christian Teichner, Drew Stanley and Alex Weber, St. Mary’s; Evan Crandall, Elijah Dysarz, Simon Jones, Marcus Meumann and Nicholas Roland, Divine Child; Sam Dersa, Bruno Guberinich, Jack McDonald, Cole Price, Nolan Mathew and Zach Rood, Catholic Central; Kenny Esquible, Robbie Henderson, Ivan Hernandez, Ethan Mehal, Nick Szczechowski and Joe Wisniewski, Riverview Gabriel Richard; Mason Everly, Ohannes Sarkisian, Cole Lacanaria and Cameron Terrill, Brother Rice; Bryce Hall, William Kerr and Jacob Peruski, Cranbrook; Petr Mehall, Jacob Piekutowski and Aaron Smith, Shrine; Paul Hehmann and Matt Montgomery, Ann Arbor Gabriel Richard; Anthony Mersino, Patrick Morgan and Grant Ross, Lakes; and Johnny Nedwick and Joey Thibodeau, Everest Collegiate.

Coach of the Year
Catholic Central’s Dan Anderson took home the award in the Central Division; U-D Jesuit’s Matt Lewis was tabbed in the AA Division; Riverview Gabriel Richard’s Tom Michalsen was named the top coach in the Intersectional No. 1; and Shrine’s Oscar Olejniczak was selected as Coach of the Year in the Intersectional No. 2.