Attention Readers: We're Back
C&G Newspapers is pleased to have resumed publication. For the time being, our papers will publish on a biweekly basis as we work toward our return to weekly papers. In between issues, and anytime, continue to find local news on our website and look for us on Facebook and Twitter.
 Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Nicholas Kiafoulis was named All-League in the CHSL.

Orchard Lake St. Mary’s Nicholas Kiafoulis was named All-League in the CHSL.

File photo by Patricia O’Blenes

Catholic League names top boys soccer players

By: Jason Carmel Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published November 20, 2019

METRO DETROIT — The Catholic High School League has named its honor teams for the 2019 boys soccer season.

Each season, the CHSL recognizes soccer players with All-Catholic, All-League and All-Academic honors.

The league had a strong run this season, with two teams playing into the last week of the season. Macomb Lutheran North made a second straight trip to the Division 3 state semifinals, while Grosse Pointe Woods University Liggett battled its way to the D-4 state title match.

Following is a listing of the honorees from teams inside the C & G Sports coverage area who were named to the honor teams.


Senior Will Bloomberg and sophomore Benji Schmeltz, West Bloomfield Frankel Jewish Academy; seniors Logan Cooper and Charlie Messano, Birmingham Brother Rice; freshman Greg Cothron and senior Quinlan Grobbel, Madison Heights Bishop Foley; seniors Cian Dotson and Noah Gappy, sophomore Beck Peaslee, and junior Ben Plunkey, Royal Oak Shrine; sophomores Garrett Gantz and Zach Wittenberg, and seniors Charlie Hefter and Wesley Reed, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood; seniors Connor Jasman, Alex Teftsis and Tommy Turner, Warren De La Salle; junior Collin Kinane, Orchard Lake St. Mary’s; sophomore Trevor Lesnau, and seniors David Mueller and Joey Shore, Lutheran North; and juniors Sheikh Manneh and Stewart Smith, and seniors Nolan Ondersma and Matthew Summers, Liggett.


Sophomore Brock Barbieri and senior Kevin Kendro, Bishop Foley; seniors Andrew Finkel, Sam Caldwell and Ryan Rubarth, Lutheran North; freshman Brennan Cannaday, senior Peter Salemo, and sophomores Jonah Cerone and Stephen Ruhle, Shrine; seniors Will Fitzpatrick and Michael Gates, Brother Rice; freshman Nathan Hooker, junior Sam Morawski, and seniors Cole Mali and Kipp Schaub, Cranbrook; sophomore Nicholas Kiafoulis, St. Mary’s; senior William Nicholson, juniors Samuel Sword and Markus Wiegel, and sophomore Douglas Wood, Liggett; seniors Jack Panos, Matt Rafferty and Jett Schodowski, De La Salle; and junior Ari Partrich and freshman Ben Taylor-Abt, Frankel Jewish Academy.


Senior Daniel Barta, Liggett; senior Eli Cortez, Shrine; junior Adam Dixon, Bishop Foley; senior Will Fitzpatrick, Brother Rice; senior Nicholas Grimes, St. Mary’s; junior Daniel Klausner, Frankel Jewish Academy; senior Logan Manor, De La Salle; senior Wesley Reed, Cranbrook; and senior Parker Stager, Lutheran North.