WCS elementary libraries receive endorsement

By: Maria Allard | C&G Newspapers | Published March 23, 2016


WARREN/STERLING HEIGHTS — The Library of Michigan recently awarded 13 elementary school libraries in the Warren Consolidated Schools district with a certificate of completion for meeting the qualified or exemplary status of the measurement benchmarks for Michigan School Libraries for 21st Century Schools.  

To earn the recognition, each library demonstrated its competence in three categories for school library program evaluation: teaching for 21st-century learning, building the 21st-century learning environment, and leading the way to 21st-century learning.  

“We are proud that our elementary libraries have done such outstanding work in providing services deemed qualified/exemplary by the Library of Michigan,” district Superintendent Robert Livernois said in a prepared statement. “By focusing efforts on these key areas, our libraries have shown a strong commitment to information literacy and student achievement.”

Michigan School Libraries for 21st Century Schools is a voluntary management standards program that assists kindergarten through 12th-grade libraries by setting benchmarks in the areas of instruction, student achievement, technology, facility, staffing, budget, instructional materials, curriculum development, school improvement, community engagement and advocacy. The process is based on the benchmarking concept of the Quality Services Audit Checklist used by the Library of Michigan for public libraries. 

According to State Librarian Nancy Robertson, Michigan School Libraries for 21st Century Schools represents the collaborative work of several dedicated task force members, including school librarians from across the state, library educators, the Michigan Association for Media in Education and the Library of Michigan.

The following WCS libraries and media specialists were recognized:

• Angus Elementary — exemplary, Karen Soper.

• Black Elementary — exemplary, Shauna Coleman.

• Cromie Elementary — qualified, Jamie Fletcher.

• Green Acres Elementary — exemplary, Jean Schachermeyer.

• Harwood Elementary — exemplary, Carrie Rospino.

• Jefferson Elementary — qualified, Stephanie Staub.

• Holden Elementary — exemplary, Judy Franklin.

• Siersma Elementary — exemplary, Christine McNanney.

• Lean Elementary — exemplary, Marian Cardamone.

• Susick Elementary — exemplary, Denise Shepitka.

• Wilkerson Elementary — exemplary, Cecillia Puzzuoli.

• Willow Woods Elementary — qualified, Steven Reinke.

• Wilde Elementary — qualified, Lisa Kennedy.