Warren, Center Line school board results

By: Maria Allard | Warren Weekly | Published November 4, 2020

Shutterstock photo


WARREN/CENTER LINE/STERLING HEIGHTS — Center Line Public Schools will welcome a new member to the Board of Education.

During the general election Nov. 3, voters elected challenger Daniel Taylor to the one partial-term seat ending Dec. 31, 2022.

According to the unofficial results from the Macomb County Clerk/Register of Deeds Office, Taylor received 3,850 votes, besting incumbent Darrell Vickers who received 2,947 votes. 

Taylor has served on the board in the past. In July 2018, he was appointed to the CLPS Board of Education to replace a vacancy when a board member moved out of the district. He later lost the seat in the November 2018 election. 

Also in CLPS, three candidates ran for the board’s three 4-year terms in an uncontested race. Incumbents Karen A. Pietrzyk and Wendy Jo Watters were reelected to the board with 4,966 and 4,426 votes, respectively. Daniel Snyder, who was appointed in January to fill a vacancy, was elected to the board for his first four-year term with 4,524 votes. 

Other local school board races were uncontested.

In Fitzgerald Public Schools, Khaja Shahab Ahmed, Kimberly M. Lee and Randel Meisner ran unopposed for three six-year terms. Incumbent Terry Wisniewski did not run for reelection.

In Warren Consolidated Schools, incumbents I. Susan Kattula and Carl B. Weckerle ran unopposed for the two six-year terms. Kattula received 32,440 votes while Weckerle received 24,959 votes. 

In Warren Woods Public Schools, Michael Garcia and Paul Zannetti ran unopposed for the two six-year terms, with Garcia garnering 6,458 votes and residents casting 5,795 votes for Zannetti.

In Van Dyke Public Schools, incumbents Jecinda T. Jones-Bettie and Ivan M. Thomas ran unopposed for two six-year terms. Jones-Bettie received 4,097 votes and Thomas received 3,514 votes. No candidates filed for the one partial term ending Dec. 31, 2024 in VDPS. According to the Macomb County Elections Department, if nobody files as a write-in candidate, the board fills the vacancy according to district procedure. 

The new terms begin Jan. 1, 2021. The school board members are usually sworn in at the first board meeting in January. 

In the Macomb Community College Board of Trustees race, 10 candidates ran for three 6-year terms. At press time, the votes were still being tallied with the board’s three incumbents — Shelley Vitale, Vince Viviano and Frank Cusumano — leading the race.