Siver voted mayor

By: Kayla Dimick | Southfield Sun | Published November 3, 2015


On Election Day, Kenson Siver came out victorious over opponent Sylvia Jordan in the race for Southfield mayor.

According to the unofficial results from the Oakland County Elections Division, Siver received the most votes, with 7,119, or 56.97 percent. Jordan  received 5,350 votes, or 42.82 percent; 12,495 votes were cast in total for mayor.

Voters were asked who they would like to see occupy four empty seats on the City Council. They said: Tawyna Morris, Donald Fracassi, Daniel Brightwell and Lloyd Crews.

According to the unofficial election results from the Oakland County Elections Division, Morris received the most votes, raking in 7,215, or 16.59 percent. Fracassi received 6,637 votes, or 15.26 percent. Brightwell received 6,076, or 13.97 percent, and Crews received 5,991 votes, or 13.77 percent.

As per election rules, since Morris, Fracassi and Brightwell were the three highest vote-getters, they will each serve a four-year term. Since Crews received the fourth-highest number of votes, he will serve a two-year term.

Linnie Taylor, Tiffany Tilley, incumbent Sidney Lantz and Diane Fuselier Thompson did not win seats. Taylor received 5,676 votes, or 13.05 percent. Tilley received 4,654 votes, or 10.70 percent. Lantz received 4,297 votes, or 9.88 percent. Fuselier-Thompson received 2,929 votes, or 6.73 percent.

The Southfield City Council is a seven-member council, made up of acting Council President Sylvia Jordan, Council President Pro Tem Seymour, and council members Lloyd Crews, Myron Frasier, Lantz and Michael Mandelbaum, plus one empty seat.

The seats filled by Jordan, Crews and Lantz were all up for re-election, along with a vacant seat up for election after then-councilman Fracassi was appointed acting mayor following former Mayor Brenda Lawrence's election to state representative last year.

In Southfield, voters were also asked if they approve an amendment to the city’s charter, eliminating primary elections in the city. They said yes: 6,929 people, or 60.01 percent, approved, while 4,618 people, or 39.99 percent, voted no.

Resident Julie Towell said she voted to eliminate primary elections in Southfield.

“I voted yes. It sounded to me like it would cut down on unnecessary elections,” Towell said.

Resident Cynthia Mack said she didn’t agree with eliminating the city’s primary elections.

“I don’t see a reason to eliminate them,” Mack said.

In Lathrup Village, voters were also asked who they would like to see represent them on City Council. They said: Donna Stallings, MyKale Garrett and Ian Ferguson.

Stallings received 492 votes, or 24.27 percent. Garrett received 475 votes, or 23.43 percent. Ferguson received 381 votes, or 18.80 percent.
Since Stallings and Garrett were the top two vote-getters, they will each serve four-year terms. As the third highest vote-getter, Ferguson will serve a two-year term.

Incumbent Bruce Copus, with 340 votes, or 16.77 percent, and Mike Keenan, with 333 votes, or 16.3 percent, did not win seats.
The Lathrup Village City Council is a five-member council, currently made up of Mayor Frank Brock, Mayor Pro Tem Kelly Garrett, Councilman Allen Weaks, Councilman Bruce Copus and Councilwoman Maria Mannarino Thompson. The seats filled by Garrett, Weaks and Copus were all up for re-election.

Voters in Lathrup Village were also asked if they approve an amendment to the charter imposing term limits on elected officials. They said no: 504 people voted no, while 315 people voted yes.