Photo provided by the St. Clair Shores Historical Commission


Looking Back: Moving day for the Selinsky-Green Log House

St. Clair Shores Sentinel | Published November 15, 2018

Advertisement

ST. CLAIR SHORES — The preservation and restoration of the Selinsky-Green Log House began in 1974 when the structure was threatened with demolition as a result of the construction of the Interstate 696/Interstate 94 freeway interchange. The building, known locally as “the old Green farmhouse,” was at the corner of 11 Mile Road and Grant Road in St. Clair Shores. The state of Michigan gave the house to the city, but the house had to be moved to be preserved.

This photo shows the log house being moved in 1975 on its way to its new location behind the St. Clair Shores Public Library.

Restoration work was done on the house in the late 1970s and early 1980s. In 1981, a state of Michigan historical marker was dedicated. Regular tours of the house began in 1983.

John and Mary Selinsky came from Prussia (a part of what is now Germany) to the U.S. in 1859 with their daughter, Ernestine. In 1868, the Selinskys bought 20 acres of land in what was then Erin Township, in Macomb County, and built a log house. In 1874, Ernestine married John Green and the couple moved into the log house her parents had built. They lived in the house all of their lives, raising six children in the home. After Ernestine’s death in 1937, family members continued to live in the house until 1974.

The Selinsky-Green Farmhouse Museum winter operation hours are Wednesdays and Saturdays from 1 to 4 p.m. There is no charge to visit. By stepping through the door, visitors can experience what everyday life was like in St. Clair Shores in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

To view this image and other historical photographs, visit the digital media archive at www.scslibrary.org.

— Submitted by Heidi Christein, archivist, St. Clair Shores Public Library

Advertisement