Attention Readers: Find Us in Your Mailbox Soon
With the coronavirus stats going in the right direction, all of us at C&G Newspapers look forward to resuming publication of the St. Clair Shores Sentinel and Birmingham-Bloomfield Eagle on May 27th. All other C&G newspapers will begin publishing on June 10th (Advertiser-Times on June 24th). In the meantime, continue to find local news on our website and look for us on Facebook and Twitter.

Lathrup voters deny road bond

Morris, Banks, Brightwell, Hoskins win seats on Southfield council

By: Kayla Dimick | Southfield Sun | Published November 6, 2019

 An election sign stands in Lathrup Village Nov. 5.

An election sign stands in Lathrup Village Nov. 5.

Photo by Deb Jacques

SOUTHFIELD/LATHRUP VILLAGE — Voters in Southfield made their voices heard Nov. 5.

In Southfield, 12 candidates competed for four seats on the council, and Tawnya L. Morris, Nancy L.M. Banks, Daniel Brightwell and Jason Hoskins came out victorious.

According to unofficial results from the Oakland County Elections Division, Morris, Banks and Brightwell will all serve four-year terms, while Hoskins will serve a two-year term.

Incumbent Morris received 5,319 votes, or 13.71%. Banks received 4,987 votes, or 12.85%. Incumbent Brightwell received 4,383 votes, or 11.30%. Hoskins received 4,106 votes, or 10.58%.

Incumbent Donald Fracassi, along with Amani Johnson, LaTina Denson, Constance Bell, Sara Habbo, Harold Hill, Ghana Goodwin-Dye and Tina Marie Poole, were not elected.

Acting Southfield City Clerk Nicole Humphries said the election went well and turnout was better than expected.

“So far, as far as we can tell, it went really well,” Humphries said. “It was a local election, so turnout was as expected. The turnout is not going to be as great as a gubernatorial or presidential election, but it was still a nice turnout.”

Humphries said turnout was around 20%.

In Lathrup Village, incumbents Ian A. Ferguson, MyKale Garrett and Donna Stallings all ran unopposed for seats on City Council. Stallings and Garrett will serve four-year terms, while Ferguson will serve a two-year term.

Stallings received 903 votes, or 34.28%, and Garrett received 852 votes, or 32.35%. Ferguson received 842 votes, or 31.97%.

Saleem R. Siddiqi ran unopposed for a two-year term on council and received 874 votes, or 98.53%.

Voters in Lathrup also denied a $21.3 million bond that would have been used to improve the city’s streets, drainage systems and culverts.

The unofficial results reported that 1,378, or 65.89%, of voters said no, while 470 voters, or 34.11%, said yes.

According to the ballot language, the money would have been used to pave, repave, resurface, reconstruct and improve streets, including drainage, culverts and other related improvements.

If it had been approved, the city would have issued a series of three 15-year bonds.

If the bond issue was approved, the city would have levied 4.48 mills in the first year of the bond, with an average millage rate over the payback period of all three bonds of 8.31 mills. The payback period of the bond was set at 19 years.

The annual cost to an average homeowner would have been approximately $300 in the first year of the bond, with an average of $557 per year through the payback period.

Lathrup Village City Clerk Yvette Talley said everything in the city went smoothly.

“It went well — I have no complaints,” she said.

Talley said voter turnout was around 36.5%.