Clinton Township Democrats sweep trustee seats

Incumbent supervisor, clerk, treasurer win reelection

By: Nick Mordowanec | C&G Newspapers | Published November 4, 2020

Shutterstock image


CLINTON TOWNSHIP — The Clinton Township Board of Trustees has gone from a 4-3 Democrat edge to a 5-2 advantage following the Nov. 3 election.

Township Supervisor Bob Cannon, a Republican first elected to the position in 2000, won reelection against Democrat challenger Jason Davidson, 28,586 votes (53.5%) to 24,833 votes (46.5%), according to unofficial results from the Macomb County Clerk/Register of Deeds Office at press time. Cannon will serve another four years.

Clerk Kim Meltzer also won reelection and another four years, defeating Democrat challenger Carol Shumard-Diehl 29,852 votes (55.9%) to 23,545 (44.1%). Treasurer Paul Gieleghem was also victorious against Republican Robert Brandenburg, winning 28,334 votes (53.5%) to 24,647 (46.5%).

A couple familiar Democrats and a couple new ones will serve as trustees the next four years.

Incumbent Mike Keys was the top vote getter, with 26,310 votes (13.3%). He was followed by newcomers Laura Cardamone (25,892 votes, 13.1%) and Tammy Patton (25,613 votes, 13%), and longtime incumbent Jenifer “Joie” West (25,333 votes, 12.8%).

New challenger Mike Aiello (25,078 votes, 12.7%) and incumbent Joe Aragona (24,972 votes, 12.7%), both Republicans, both lost by one-tenth of a percentage point. Republicans Phil Rode (22,968 votes, 11.6%) and Kenneth Tardie (21,229 votes, 10.8%) rounded out the eight-person race.

Democrat William Sowerby has won another two-year term as state Rep. in District 31, defeating Republican Lisa Valerio-Nowc 26,198 votes (56.3%) to 20,359 votes (43.7%).

Beverly Lewis-Moss, Annika Christiani and Kary Davidson each won a six-year term as part of the Clintondale Community Schools Board of Education. There were six candidates in the race.

Clinton Township had over 56,000 voters and a 67.9% turnout.