Roseville residents re-elect mayor and incumbent council members

By: Bria Brown | Roseville - Eastpointe Eastsider | Published November 15, 2017

Thinkstock image

ROSEVILLE — Incumbents all the way. Roseville residents made a statement at the polls, re-electing Roseville’s Mayor Robert Taylor and Council members Jan Haggerty, Bill Shoemaker and Steven Wietecha during the Nov. 7 election. 

Roseville City Clerk Richard Steenland and Treasurer Michael Switalski were unopposed in their races. 

Taking 75.4 percent of the vote, Taylor says he received a lot of “positive feedback.”

“It felt good. We received a lot of positive feedback from the polls, and a lot of positive feedback from the people we talked to. They’re happy with the direction that Roseville’s going in right now,” said Taylor.  

Taylor said he’s happy that the “team” was voted back to work. 

“The most important thing is, we were able to keep our team together. I’m only as good as the team that works with me. We got a very good team, and it’s very important to us to keep our team together, and we all get along. That makes an easier workplace,” he said. 

The mayor said he appreciates the residents’ continued support. 

“I want to thank the residents from the bottom of my heart for allowing us to continue to move Roseville in the right direction. I want to continue to make Roseville a great city for residents to live in,” said Taylor. 

Shoemaker was “happy” about the Nov. 7 polls, which resulted in him receiving 27 percent of the vote. 

“I was happy and very grateful and very thankful that I was re-elected. It was a great effort by our team, and I think it’s awesome the four of us that had competition got re-elected, and we will continue the hard work to keep Roseville going well,” said Shoemaker. 

As a whole, Shoemaker explained why he believes residents voted the way they did. 

“I think people are happy with what’s happening in Roseville, and we have a lot of caring individuals on our council who do a good job for everybody and keeps Roseville going in a positive direction,” said Shoemaker. 

Haggerty received 26.7 percent of the votes and said it was an “awesome feeling” to be re-elected. 

“I was cautiously optimistic about this election, but I really wanted our team to get in because we have a good team and we’re all dedicated to Roseville to try to move it into the right direction,” said Haggerty. “I think it was more humbling to me this time than it’s ever been in the past. I was very, very happy.”

Haggerty said she’s grateful for the residents believing in the “team.” 

“I’m so grateful that the residents have confidence in us and they respect what we’re trying to do. Everything can’t be done overnight, but we’re trying to do everything we can to move us forward. That’s been every one of our goals on council,” she said.

Wietecha, who was appointed to council in 2016, is “relieved” about the election and credits his campaigning since May as a reason for his win. 

He received 22.8 percent of the votes. 

“I just want to thank all the residents for their support. I appreciate it,” said Wietecha. 

Wietecha said he followed the results online and found out about the outcome from the Macomb County Clerk’s website. 

“We’re moving things forward on council, and I really appreciate the support of the residents. It shows they trust the direction we’re going in,” he said. 

According to the Macomb County Clerk’s office Taylor received 3,187 votes in the mayoral election to Kristin Hoff’s 1,038 votes. In the race for City Council seats, Shoemaker received 3,113 votes, Haggerty had 3,065 votes and Wietecha garnered 2,623 votes. Dee Bowman Lindroth received 1,613 votes and Bryan Shishakly garnered 1,074 votes.