Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Macomb County

Standout MAC boys soccer players recognized

November 27, 2012

With the 2012 Macomb Area Conference boys soccer season in the rearview mirror, the MAC has named its top players, honoring standouts with All-Conference recognition.

All-MAC teams have been released for each division, along with Most Valuable Player and Coach of the Year honors.

Here’s a division-by-division breakdown of the honor teams.

Utica Eisenhower senior Ryan Goike won MVP honors, while his coach, Josh VanHouten, was named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference honorees are Goike, Tyler Armstrong, Lucas Dalach, Jesse Jobin and Travis Harrington, Ike; Noah Brenizer, Utica High; Spencer Steinwascher, Neil Martorana and Kevin Ulch, Utica Stevenson; Dalton Amez, Tony Beneditti, Chris Johnson and Dane Haggerty, Clinton Township Chippewa Valley; Drew Niewoit, Costa Wells and Kyle Kline, Utica Ford II; and Matt Vang and Devon Butler, Anchor Bay.

Ike went 9-1 to win the Red.

Chippewa Valley and Stevenson (5-4-1) tied for second place, followed by Ford II (4-3-3), Anchor Bay (2-6-2) and Utica High (1-8-1).

MAC White
Fraser High’s Greg Petty and Thaier Mukhtar were named MVP and Coach of the Year, respectively.

All-Conference honorees include Petty, Mark Trombley, Brandon Hejza, Matt Lang, Thomas Mok, Fraser; Alex Detwiler, Mark Adamazack, Andrew Cornwall and Robert Durand, Grosse Pointe South; Dylan Dorley, Robert Lonpo and Matt Gross, Macomb L’Anse Creuse North; Michael Majcuski, Tony DeMaria and Tyler Busch, Warren Cousino; Eric Cass and Gjonson Biblekaj, St. Clair Shores Lakeview; Eric Shankin and Zef Dushaj, Romeo High; and Will Colborn, Grosse Pointe North.

Fraser won the White with a 10-0-2 mark. South (7-2-3) finished in second place, followed by LCN (6-3-3), Cousino (4-7-1), Lakeview (4-7-1), Romeo (2-7-3) and North (2-9-1).

MAC Blue
St. Clair Shore Lake Shore’s Marcus Barnett won MVP honors, while his coach, Dave Lount, earned Coach of the Years recognition.

All-Conference honorees are Barnett, Jaylin Harris, Mike Swarthout and Jeff Sawka, Lake Shore; Clayton Cole, Nicholas D’Onofrio, Brandon Sanchez and Pasquale Madonna, Macomb Dakota; Steven Fegan, Paul Karasiewicz and Ryan Berra, Port Huron Northern; Logan Ross, Sean Haddow and Maryos Azeez, Warren Mott; Brad Tunney and Joseph Verbeke, Harrison Township L’Anse Creuse; Anh Ho and Chuck Grade, Sterling Heights High; and Yousif Elia, Madison Heights Lamphere.

Dakota and Lake Shore both recorded 8-1-3 marks to share the league title. Port Huron Northern (6-3-3) finished third, followed by Mott (5-5-2), Sterling Heights High (4-6-2), L’Anse Creuse (3-9-0) and Lamphere (1-10-1).

MAC Gold
Roseville High’s Christian Thursam took home league MVP honors, while Clawson High’s Jared Kullman was named Coach of the Year.

All-Conference honorees are Thursam, Mason Mahaffey, Vincenzo Cracchido and Cory Haviland, Roseville; Tyler Jujon, Alex Maison, Nathan Cote, Andrew Halsey and Evan Deciantis, Clawson; Nick Kellogg, Ryan Atkinson and Cory Gardner, Marysville High; Brad Eisen, Tom Lemke and Nick Ball, St. Clair High; Tyler Mascarin, Alex Willis and Conner Pierce, Warren Woods Tower; Justin Bonney and Adam Christie, Port Huron High; and Ben Harris, Center Line High.

Clawson went 11-0-1 to win the Gold. Roseville (10-1-1) came in a close second. Marysville (6-4-2) finished third, followed by St. Clair (4-7-1), Tower (4-8-1), Port Huron High (3-8-1) and Center Line (1-11-0).

MAC Silver
Marine City’s Quinten Buckley was named league MVP. New Haven’s Lance Whitney earned Coach of the Year honors.

All-Conference honorees are Buckley, Kyle Lamanski, Andrew Debecce and Gavin McPherson, Marine City; Dolan Bonkowski, Brandon Gonzales, Rayshawn Griffin and Connor Bauman, New Haven; David Urso, Austin Hart, Thomas Pawlusiak and Kyle Shelest, St. Clair Shores South Lake; Ben Lee, Brett Erskine and Andrew Rehs, East Detroit; and Matt Trontl and Walter Shropshire, Warren Fitzgerald. Warren Lincoln’s and Mount Clemens’ selections were not available at press time.

New Haven went 11-1 in winning the Silver. Marine City and South Lake tied for second at 8-2-2, followed by Lincoln (4-7-1), East Detroit (4-7-1), Fitzgerald (3-7-2) and Mount Clemens (0-12-0).


You May Be Interested In