Follow C & G News on Facebook Follow C & G News on Twitter Google+ Pinterest feed Connect to the C & G RSS feed

Select a sport


Oakland County

Oakland Activities Association boys basketball names honor teams

April 9, 2014

The boys basketball season has officially concluded, and conferences across the state are honoring teams and players for their efforts.

Here’s a look at how the Oakland Activities Association played out and the players who helped lead their teams.

For the eighth straight season, Clarkston High has found itself atop of the divisional standings.

The Wolves finished the season 12-2 in the division, with both losses coming to Bloomfield Hills High.

Despite sweeping the series with Clarkston (and beating the Wolves in a Class A regional), the Black Hawks tied Rochester Adams for second at 11-3 each.

North Farmington (8-6) was fourth, followed by Southfield-Lathrup (7-7), Southfield High (4-10), Pontiac High (2-12) and Rochester High (1-13).

All-Association honors go to Mike Nicholson, Nick Owens and Andrew Myers, Clarkston; Akhemji Williams and Spencer Littleson, Adams; Yante Maten and Armand Cartwright, Bloomfield Hills; Jeron Rogers and Anthony Qasawa, North Farmington; Frederick John, Lathrup; Isaiah Green, Southfield; Vezzie Carthane, Pontiac; and Mike Murri, Rochester.

Bloomfield Hills’ Duane Graves is Coach of the Year. Along with OAA honors, Maten was also named Michigan’s Gatorade Player of the Year.

OAA White
It was busy at the top of the White Division standings.

Troy Athens, Oak Park High and Troy High all tied for first, finishing 10-4.

Lake Orion High was only a game behind, taking fourth place at 9-5.

Birmingham Seaholm (6-8) placed fifth, followed by West Bloomfield High (5-9), Auburn Hills Avondale (4-10) and Birmingham Groves (2-12).

All-Association honorees are Mike Williams, John VanHoef and Tim Shayoka, Athens; JaChristian Biles, Rodney Scales and Kelvon Fuller, Oak Park; Chris Dorsey, Austin Perry and Danny Wunderlich, Troy; David Henry and Nate Marcum, Lake Orion; Jeff Bowman, Seaholm; Trishton Jackson, West Bloomfield; Jabbar mims, Avondale; and Eddie Reese, Groves.

Troy’s Gary Fralick earns Coach of the Year.

OAA Blue
Oxford High finishes the regular season with a 10-game winning streak to pull away in the division.

The Wildcats finished 12-2, three games ahead of second-place Farmington High and Ferndale High.

Rochester Hills Stoney Creek (8-6) was fourth, followed by Berkley High (7-7), Farmington Hills Harrison (5-9), Royal oak High (4-10) and Hazel Park High (2-12).

All-Association honors go to Connor Elzerman, Alex Hesse and Delxino Alexander, Oxford; Avon White and Justin Banks, Farmington; Robert Deiz and Justin Kearney, Ferndale; Charlie Carson and Parick Mertz, Stoney Creek; Jonathon Radner, Berkley; John Rexroth, Harrison; Dante Valente, Royal Oak; and Quinten Pearson, Hazel Park.

Oxford’s Stephan Henning is Coach of the Year.


September 28, 2015

Farmington Hills Harrison

Farmington Hills Harrison earned the honor after beating Southfield High 17-14 at home in a battle for first place in the Oakland Activities Association White Division. The win put the Hawks 4-0 (4-1 overall) in the division, a game ahead of Southfield. After trailing 14-7 at the half, Harrison scored 10 unanswered points, capped off by a 27-yard field goal by Alex Bolstrum with 10:57 left in the game. In the last four meetings between these rivals, each team has won twice with a 4.5 average margin of victory.

You May Be Interested In