OAA recognizes softball’s best

All-Association team caps another strong, spring season

By: Mike Moore | C&G Newspapers | Published June 21, 2012

With medals and trophies officially awarded to the state softball champs in Battle Creek, the 2012 high school softball season came to a close June 16.

But before we dive head first into summer, we’ll take a look back on the season that was, as coaches in the Oakland Activities Association honored individual players with All-Association accolades.

Red Division
Clarkston High took the Red title with a 9-1 record, followed by Troy High (7-3), North Farmington (6-4), Lake Orion High (5-5), Farmington High (3-7) and Oxford (0-10).

Clarkston coach Don Peters was named Coach of the Year, while All-Association awards went to Sydney Hasselback, Megan Hastings, Shuana Siwicki, Madeline Mayday and Tara Perry, Clarkston; Laney Hart, Kristen Shetler, Kamryn LaCarter and Cori Mittelbrun, Troy; Katy Severson, Katie Creighton and Megan Keller, North Farmington; Alicia Gronowski and Taylor Dillow, Lake Orion; Sarah Gutknecht and Kaitlin Lock, Farmington; and Cassie Edgemon, Oxford.

White Division
Troy Athens had its best season in program history, including a 10-0 record and division title in the White. Next in the standings are Beverly Hills Groves (7-3), Rochester High (6-4), Rochester Adams (3-7), West Bloomfield High (3-7) and Auburn Hills Avondale (1-9).

Dave Marr from Athens is Coach of the Year, while All-Association honors went to Melissa Palmer, Haley Zemmer, Meg Richter, Erica Siismets and Sarah Watson, Athens; Keely Nowland, Zoe Schmerin, Jessica Turner and Mamie Talty, Groves; Maggie Irvine, Haley Lenderman and Emily Ellis, Rochester; Kelly McCasland and Kristen Noack, Adams; Allyson Kus and Claire Forhan, West Bloomfield; and Brianna Marzolf, Avondale.

Blue Division
Farmington Hills Harrison (9-1) edged Birmingham Seaholm (8-2) for the Blue Division title. Rochester Hills Stoney Creek (7-3), Hazel Park High (4-6), Berkley High (1-9) and Royal Oak (1-9) rounded out the standings.

Harrison’s Kristen Zabalavicius takes home Coach of the Year honors. Conference honors go to Cassandra Allen, Jordyn Gamble, Samantha LaLonde, Allison Blair and Leah Petrak, Harrison; Alex Arnold, Emma Coury, Carolynn Gragg and Jordan Lenington, Seaholm; Jen Semaan, Casey Cribbs and Sara Beyer, Stoney Creek; Hali Pasden and Shelbie Farris, Hazel Park; Hannah Mulcahy and Jessica Steele, Berkley; and Kendall Clarey and Amelia Stacker, Royal Oak.

Gold Division
Bloomfield Hills Andover joined Athens as the only unbeaten teams in the OAA in 2012, winning the Gold crown with a 12-0 record. Birmingham Lahser (10-2) took second, followed by Ferndale High (8-4), Southfield High (6-6), Lathrup Village Southfield-Lathrup (4-8), Pontiac High (2-10) and Oak Park High (0-12).

Vince Bazarewski from Andover is the Coach of the Year, while All-Association honors go to Rachel Kammerzell, Mary Olesnavich, Sarah Durecka, Kayla Flory and Mary Grace Owens, Andover; Brittany Hackel, Madi Kramer, Kirsten Ulrich and Michelle Dawes, Lahser; Hannah Carney, Hannah Reiter and Emily Kulick, Ferndale; Alex Tucker and Daijah Bean, Southfield; Ayanna Coleman and Terri Brown, Lathrup; Meshia Smith, Pontiac; and Zakesha Foster, Oak Park.

Shuffle time
The OAA coaches also approved a number of moves for next season.

Athens is moving to the Red in 2013, while Harrison moves to the White.

Oxford is moving from the Red to the White, while Avondale is going from the White to the Blue.