OAA football names honor teams

By: Christian Davis | C&G Newspapers | Published December 10, 2012

It was a year of Wolves, Maples and Knights in the Oakland Activities Association football season.

As the prep season culminated with state title games held over Thanksgiving weekend, the OAA looked back and honored the coaches and players who once again made it one of the premier leagues in the state.

It took until the final week of the regular season, but Clarkston High edged rival Lake Orion High for the championship. The Wolves finished 7-0 in the division with the Lakers one game behind.

Rochester High, Troy High and Rochester Hills Stoney Creek all came in at 4-3, while Pontiac High, Troy Athens and West Bloomfield High rounded out the division at 1-6.

Individually, All-Association honors go to Nick Mattich, Ian Eriksen, Shane Hynes, Caine Watlington, Chris Calvano, Nathan Yeloshoun, Alex Dicea, Nick Azzopardi, Jesse Chadwell and Davide Beedle, Clarkston; Derric Williams, Nick Booker, Jacob Miller, Chaz Miller, Brandon Clements, Travis Hill, Nick Volgemeir and Corey Ester, Lake Orion; Shwan Shadaia, John Doroshewitz, James Ward, Manny Mendoza, Shane Shadaia, Kyle Hillstead and Ryan Matynka, Rochester; Justin Losey, Greg Webber, Tommy Richardson, Brian Johnson, Connor Hayden, Davis Strobridge, Danny Wunderlich and Terrance Cherry, Troy; Sean Scullen, Joe Cox, Alex Shnurr, Sam Clayman, David Kerr, Dane Hathaway and Jack VanAlmen, Stoney Creek; Jody Harrison, Roosevelt Wheeler, Trajan Seay and Blake Samuels, Pontiac; Jake Nelson, Lucas Bezerra, Aaron Hazen and Joe Shields, Athens; and Chance Monarch, Brighton Unaegbu, Joe Hubbard and Michael King, West Bloomfield.

Clarkston’s Kurt Richardson was named Coach of the Year.

OAA White
It was a year to remember for Oak Park High. The Knights won the division, finishing 6-1 and wrapping up their best season since going 5-1 in the OAA II in 2003.

Farmington High and Oxford High came in second at 5-2, with Southfield High and Farmington Hills Harrison just behind at 4-3.

Rochester Adams finished 3-4, winning its final two division games. North Farmington came in at 1-6 and Southfield-Lathrup was 0-7.

All-Association honorees are Malik Washington, Brian Williams, John Kelly, Ricardo Smith, Shahid Bellamy, Jameer Butts, Michael Cleveland, Mario Morris and Storm Hudson, Oak Park; Connor Mohr, Isaiah Gourdine, Wes Kuuttila, Curtis Brunson, Michael Purry, Keenan White, Jordan Degreffenreed and Ryan Caprathe, Farmington; Zach Hadorn, Marty Giannola, Brennen Orr, Glacier Wallington, Vincent Griffith, Drew Davis, Kyle Anderson and Piper Thaler, Oxford; Colin Buchanan, Tre Walton, Willie Duncan, Jeff Madison, Gerald Gates and Marc Lincoln, Southfield; Jake Slobin, Zach Maas, Garius Coleman, Eddie Huckleby, Noah Downs, Dorian Fields and Lorenzo Collins, Harrison; Sam Gasiorowski, C.J. Borglin, Kyle Niswonger and Matt Sokol, Adams; Chauncey Bridges, Anwar Alqurneh and Justin Shelton, North Farmington; and Nick Timmons, Kebba Sanneh and Adrian Church, Lahrup.

Oak Park’s Greg Carter was named Coach of the Year.

OAA Blue
Birmingham Seaholm was perfect, finishing 8-0, which put it a game ahead of Auburn Hills Avondale.

Bloomfield Hills Lahser came in third at 6-2, with Berkley High in fourth at 5-3.

Hazel Park High was 4-4, good for fifth place, while Ferndale High, Birmingham Groves and Royal Oak High all came in at 2-6.

Bloomfield Hills Andover officially finished 0-8 after forfeiting its season.

All-Association players are Karl Marback, Dan Simon, Aaron Ware, Zach Granett, Sam Wilson, Dante Capicchioni, Andrew Barton, Dylan Kanaan and Stephen Guenther, Seaholm; Clark Clancy, Michael Johnson, Spencer Smith, Jacob Blomberg, Dillon Brancheau, Chris Bracewell, Mitch Williams, Chase Lalla and Julian Pepaj, Avondale; Zach Tornow, Reilly Manz, Nate Emery, Collin Feilla, Spencer McCourt and Charlie Dauch, Lahser; Matt Koerner, Eric Hudson, Veldo Funwie, Jeremy Shephard, Manny Bellamy and Vince Plaskey, Berkley; Deonte Bynum, Keith Bucholtz, Andrew McCellan, Gary Tyner and Raeshaun Campbell, Hazel Park; Eric Ellis, Marcus Quarker, Marvie Gardner and Desmond Paige, Ferndale; Ross Williams, Bryce Anderson, Spenser Robnett and Nick Valentine, Groves; and Justin Unger, Alex Sims and Ben Borski, Royal Oak.

Seaholm’s Jim Dewald was named Coach of the Year.